Green Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2002
I was fully prepared to love this. But the ratio of the onions to the green beans was off. There were way too many onions and not enough green beans! Also, the omission of milk or other liquid with the soup base made it a little too thick. If you make this, add some water or milk, double the green beans, and go light with the fried onions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2002
Excellent beans! I thought next time I'd add one more can of beans though.. and I only used a quarter of a small container of those french fried onions - there's no way I could have put 6 ounces on them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wales, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
I served this for Christmas dinner and my family enjoyed it. I used 2 cans of beans and added some grated cheddar cheese and a couple tablespoons of milk. My personal preference is to mix the can of onions into the casserole right before I put it in the oven, rather than putting the onions on top. My sister-in-law made it one year for Thanksgiving by adding a can of creamed corn and it was surprisingly very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2002
I really appeciate that fact that this is real the real deal. Green bean casserole without all the extras. Fast and easy to make. My family loves the traditional recipe. Thank you for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lovemyfamily09
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2003
Made this as a side dish tonight. Was very delicious!! I was cooking for a family of 8 and two guests and was dissappointed to know that I only had 2 cans of french style green beans. Next time I will use 3 cans of french style green beans and the 1 can of cream of mushroom soup and the french fried onion topping (I only used as much as I wanted, not the whole can, which is how I read the recipe). The children gobbled it up! Yummmmmy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lovemyfamily09

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2003
A little too soupy..maybe less soup next time? I also think it would be better with fresh green beans opposed to canned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2002
Very good! I tried it with fat free Cream of Mushroom Soup and it was "ok". Next time, I think I'll follow the recipe and go with the real thing. Incredibly easy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
Great recipe. I made it exactly as written, except with half of the french fried onions. It is very simple, easy, and quick -- thanks!!! I will be making this a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
Very simple and quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2002
a great cassarole receipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States