Green Bean Casserole IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
I was looking for a dish without the "cream of" soup and this was absolutely delicious! Everyone raved! I did replace the canned beans for fresh(steam for 5 minutes first, to soften before adding to recipe) I also replaced the onion with mushrooms because I wanted to put french fried onions on top, so it would be more like a traditional Thanksgiving dish. This recipe will definitely be part of our holiday tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2005
This was the first time i was making it. Even my guy loved it .Few changes though.I skipped on the sugar & sour cream.I used parmesan cheese & I saute'd garlic also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2001
I opted to try a variation on the tried and true green bean casserole printed on the Durkee fried onion canister. Nobody ate these. Too much stuffing, needed more flavor. I guess I'm used to the old cream of mushroom soup. Oh well, I tried...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
I made this recipe to bring to my sister's house for Christmas dinner this week. Everyone loved it and asked me to make it again for next year. I changed a couple of things: I decreased the sugar by half and also decreased the onion by about a third. I added some ground black pepper, a little garlic, and I used Stove Top stuffing instead of homemade. I might try homemade stuffing next year. I used frozen green beans that I thawed and drained. I didn't find them to be too crunchy at all, but I hate canned vegetables so maybe that's why.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
I am so thankful for a great green bean casserole recipe without the dreaded cream of mushroom soup! Thought this was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
My family really disliked the traditional green bean casserole recipe so I tried this recipe last year as an alternative. They loved this version and it was the only item that there weren't any leftovers for. This year I am doubling the recipe to make sure we get leftovers. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2005
Much better than the traditional green bean casserole. I made this both at the holidays and when my family was in town visiting, and everyone that has tried it loves it. I also thought that the beans were a little crunchy for my taste, but my family wouldn't change it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
i made this for a christmas dinner and it was delicious but i didn't put the stuffing mix on top instead I just topped it with the french fried onions everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Burgin, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2001
I think I would have rather used canned green beans, the frozen ones were just a little too crunchy for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TamaraLW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glenrock, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2004
Recipe was very good. Could use less onions, like 1/2 cup or less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States