Green Bean Casserole IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
This was delicious! Everyone loved this dish at the holidays. I have been learning more about cooking in recent years and have been trying many new recipes. This required some work, and I used fresh green beans for the recipe, but this was well worth the effort. So wonderful! Rich, and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Menifee, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
Great casserole. Add some chicken and you have a complete meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
I was looking for something different to do with an abundance of home canned green beans...this recipe did the job!! I used 1 qt. and 1 pint of beans (drained) and followed the recipe except for the topping. I am not a big fan of boxed stuffing so I used the cheddar style french onions on top. Everyone loved them and the flavor was so much better with the homemade sauce...than the more traditional soup method. This one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Chadwick

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centerburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
This is a great way to liven up everyday GB cassarole. This was great. I used french fried onions instead of bread cumbs, canned italian flat greenbeans, and fresh mushrooms. Yummy, I will make this year after year. Totally better than the soup can recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hickory, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
Absolutely delicious and much better than the Campbell's recipe. I was looking for a fresh version since I have sensitivities to MSG and other preservatives in processed goods. I altered this recipe by adding fresh mushrooms and celery with the onion. The first time I made it I didn't have sour cream so I just used regular whipping cream. Either way it's phenomenal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
Great Recipe. Wanted something different from the usual green bean casserole, and this was it. Made it at my Thanksgiving dinner and it was surely the crowd favorite. The only change i made was, i left out the onion and flour part...and instead, put the french onions on top of the stuffing before putting it in oven. Will certainly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Michigan Mommy
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
I hate reviewing recipes that I have changed around because I do like to stay true to the recipes most of the time, but in this case I figured I would share how mine turned out anyway. I used fresh green beans and after finding that my shredded cheddar was moldy :0 I used shredded swiss. The swiss flavor was amazing in the recipe and the sauce was so delicious! I kept everything else the same and for me this recipe was much too little to fit into a 9 by 13 dish. I actually poured it in there and it was so thin that I poured it into a round 2 quart dish which worked perfectly. I used cubed seasoned stuffing and only had to use 1 1/2 cup to adequately cover my dish. The flavor of this recipe is wonderful! I'm sure it would taste great as written with the cheddar and will try it with cheddar next time, but the swiss really does mesh well with the other flavors. A new favorite side dish here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michigan Mommy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
I am so thankful for a great green bean casserole recipe without the dreaded cream of mushroom soup! Thought this was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
I made this recipe to bring to my sister's house for Christmas dinner this week. Everyone loved it and asked me to make it again for next year. I changed a couple of things: I decreased the sugar by half and also decreased the onion by about a third. I added some ground black pepper, a little garlic, and I used Stove Top stuffing instead of homemade. I might try homemade stuffing next year. I used frozen green beans that I thawed and drained. I didn't find them to be too crunchy at all, but I hate canned vegetables so maybe that's why.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
I was looking for a dish without the "cream of" soup and this was absolutely delicious! Everyone raved! I did replace the canned beans for fresh(steam for 5 minutes first, to soften before adding to recipe) I also replaced the onion with mushrooms because I wanted to put french fried onions on top, so it would be more like a traditional Thanksgiving dish. This recipe will definitely be part of our holiday tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States