Green Bean Bundles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
I modified this a bit since I didn't have bacon. I did, however, have turkey lunchmeat so I sliced the meat into thirds lengthwise and used the turkey meat to wrap the bundles. I did marinate overnight and heated up in the oven for dinner. I put it at 375 and it was still a little lukewarm after 15-20 minutes, so I'd say it needs baked longer if starting from the fridge. Of course, it could just be my oven that takes forever. I definitely think these need marinated--the flavor wasn't too strong, but it was still there after marinating overnight. My guess is that if you cook as is without marinating the flavor might not be there. All in all, we really liked these. Yes, a bit time consuming but if you do it in steps it's not so hard. I made these and another green bean recipe last night so as to steam the beans all at once, which helped. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
We were disappointed there wasn't more pazaz considering the ingredients. Seemed very bland. If we do this one again, we will certainly modify.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
These are fantastic... everyone loved them at our family reunion and I came home with an empty dish. I used minced fresh garlic instead of garlic salt (used 4 cloves for 2 lbs. of beans), used low-sodium soy sauce and reduced the Worchestershire to 3T. I just didn't want them to taste too salty and those little bundles came out just right IMO :) And yes, marinating the bundles overnight really helped. What a great recipe.. I know I'll make this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ashtabula, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
The only way I can get the DH and the 3 boys to all eat green beans every time. I have made this numerous times and taken it to potlucks, it's always a favorite. Thanks for a great veg recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brookland, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
Very good. Made them for the first time for Easter Dinner. The sauce was good and I'm trying to think of something else I can use it on. We will be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yo.mags

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berlin, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
terrific stuff! makes a monster showing at any occasion! highly recommeneded.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
We had these for Thanksgiving. They were terrific. I used this recipe mainly because I was looking for something different besides the old greenbean caserole. Instead of using raw bacon I used fully cooked bacon. It cut back on some of the grease and was a lot quicker to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
very good, nothing special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
I read about the short cut someone posted regarding buying the steamed beans in a bag...great idea! I have another time saving idea to add...buy the pre-cooked bacon at Sams/Costco. I also shaved carrots and added the carrots to the bundles for a burst of color. Definitely make a day ahead and marianate the beans, mmm mmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
These were good. I like the flavor of the bacon with the beans. I think it would be great to thicken the liquid a bit after the baking and pour over the beans lightly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bizzymomma

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Green Bean Almondine with Garlic & Blue Cheese

Trick out your green bean side dish with roasted garlic & tangy blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States