Green Bean Bundles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
I followed the recipe except I didn't tie the beans in bundles, just added the bacon to the dish. Disappointed after reading the reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GolferGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Very good. I wish I had marinated the beans overnight. Very good. I microwaved the bacon separately and then the beans and then roasted. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by domesticadmin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corsicana, Texas, USA
Living In: Bellaire, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
VERY GOOD! Here's how I made them: bought a big bag of organic frozen green beans. Put about 2lbs in a bowl in the microwave, and cooked for 5 minutes (just until they were warmed through, not really cooked). Poured the marinade over the beans, and let soak overnight in the fridge. Sliced the bacon in half length-wise (long skinny strips) and cooked until just barely light brown. Drained on paper towels, then made the bundles, tying the bacon around them (discarded marinade). Put in the 400 degree over for 10 minutes, and they were PEFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnnC123

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
These Bean Bundles were to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
I've been making these every Thanksgiving for years! However, I always use fresh green beans and blanch them for 3-4 minutes until bright green (faster than steaming). As a more healthy alternative toss the blanched green beans with some olive oil, a touch of dijon mustard, garlic salt & pepper. Another speedy shortcut: cook the bacon for 2-3 minutes in the microwave before wrapping around the green beans. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ringwood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
I steamed the green beans the night before I needed to serve them until they were perfectly steamed. Pre-cooked the bacon about 1/2 way, wrapped the bundles, made the sauce and let them soak for about 20 hours overnight, then stuck them in the oven. The flavor was phenomenal; my only complaint (which someone else may have a solution to) was that though the green beans started looking shriveled and whitered; they were very "al dente" which some guests loved and some weren't as crazy about. This recipe is definitely a keeper though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
I make these every year for the holidays. They are fabulous. I use whole frozen green beans and steam cook them until they are still crisp. Thin sliced bacon works better than thick. Definately, marinate overnight before cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SCHAFFERSS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
I make these for almost any holiday or event. They are a crowd pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
sooo good! made it just like the recipe said. everyone loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Lubbock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
I modified this a bit since I didn't have bacon. I did, however, have turkey lunchmeat so I sliced the meat into thirds lengthwise and used the turkey meat to wrap the bundles. I did marinate overnight and heated up in the oven for dinner. I put it at 375 and it was still a little lukewarm after 15-20 minutes, so I'd say it needs baked longer if starting from the fridge. Of course, it could just be my oven that takes forever. I definitely think these need marinated--the flavor wasn't too strong, but it was still there after marinating overnight. My guess is that if you cook as is without marinating the flavor might not be there. All in all, we really liked these. Yes, a bit time consuming but if you do it in steps it's not so hard. I made these and another green bean recipe last night so as to steam the beans all at once, which helped. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Green Bean Almondine with Garlic & Blue Cheese

Trick out your green bean side dish with roasted garlic & tangy blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States