Green Bean Bundles II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
We vary this by using a Catalina dressing instead. Am planning to try a Vidalia onion dressing...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
I really like these string beans. Unlike others, I loved the tangy-ness of the beans and so did everyone else. I used fresh beans and let them marinate in a covered container overnight, shaking it up occasionally. I found that if you just lay the beans down over the flap, there was no need for the toothpick. Once the top side was crisp enough, I flipped it. Just be careful to keep an eye on them because the tips will start to burn. I will definitely make these again, and this time I will make extra. Everyone agreed that they went too fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by patticakes43

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
We have been enjoying this recipe for many years. I purchase frozen whole green beans. I wrap with the bacon as per this recipe but instead of Italian dressing I use store bought Catalina. I have never served this as an appetizer. This is an easy recipe to make for a crowd because I can make my bundles several days ahead of time store in the freezer on the baking pans and covered well with foil. When its time for the oven I pour the Catalina over top sprinkle some course ground black pepper and bake until the bacon is done. Looks awesome all piled up on an oval platter and the taste is amazing. Even the kids go back for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
Nice flavors. Good directions. 1) we used turkey bacon - which turned out fine, but they were fragile little puppies. 2) We 'oopsed' and didn't make these for dinner as planned, so they marinated two extra days. When I finally bit into them, they reminded me of eating the pickle in Rouladen (a german dish with meat rolled around seasonings and a pickle......). I would probably not choose to marinate them that long again to go with a nice, say, steak dinner, but then again, with some German meals, it might be just the thing to do.......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Didn't like these at all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
I made these last night w/ Caramel Apple Pork chops and Smashed potatoes, also from this site! The only change I made was to use the cooking directions from the bundles I. They were great! Everyone loved them. One complaint.....I didn't make more:) One of my children said it was the best dinner they ever had and don't change a thing. I love it when the whole family likes something and thanks to you, they loved this.!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaLee

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lorain, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
Had a similar recipe at a get together, made this as an appetizer for Thanksgiving. Very big hit lot of prep work but worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
After marinating overnight, the beans fell apart when I tried to put them in bundles. My friend, who is a caterer, places the bundles together & then marinates them! Also the dressing was overpowering!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
Delicious, but I think I'll pre-cook my bacon a little next time - my bacon was not as done as I would have liked, and the beans were starting to burn. I liked this appetizer because it ctually contained veggies, whereas so many appetizers are just cheese, meat and fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Trisha
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
I used fresh green beans, and chopped the bacon and a small onion in it. Par boiled it, [fried the bacon and onion first] then put it in a pie plate and baked it. I think I used to much dressing on it. I made Calzones [ excellent recipe on this sight] I wanted something different besides a side salad, this fit the bill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Green Bean Almondine with Garlic & Blue Cheese

Trick out your green bean side dish with roasted garlic & tangy blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States