Green Bean and Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2006
If you are looking for something different, that is going to be a real crowd pleaser....look no further!!! This is an excellent recipe and a great one for BBQ's (where the food sits out) or if you have to make something and travel with it. No mayo- no worries. I stuck with the base recipe but would suggest 2 things: 1. Plunge the green beans into ice water after you steam them so they retain their beautiful color. 2. I added chopped, wonderfully ripe, tomatoes, and black olives. Really added great color and flavor! The dressing recipe has a terrfic flavor to it----best served after several hours of marinating or even overnight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2006
We loved this - even my husband who is not a vegetable person. We served it with chicken terriaki and the flavor combination was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CUCKOOBIRD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2006
I have made this potato salad before, years ago, but since my family doesn't care for potato salad without mayo, I added some to this recipe and let it sit over nite. YUM Both tangy and a little creamy, and you control the creamy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
Changes I made: used purple potatoes, shredded carrots, red onion, cherry tomatoes, green beans. I drizzled with olive oil, s,p, garlic, onion powder, and oregeno. I will make again and will try it with the dressing provided. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2006
Really good, a nice twist to an ordinary potato salad. Next time I will use the other reviewers recommendation and add olives and cherry tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2006
I followed the recipe exactly. It was delicious. A nice summer sweetness to a heavy roast that I made. It was a delicious meal that would also pair well with ham or proscuitto to add a meat to make a complete meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cavoe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
After reading everyone's reviews, I think I perfected the recipe. The trick is to use the same dressing amounts (although I did increase the garlic by 2 cloves) but to double the potatoes and basil. I only increased the green beans up to 1 lb, but I also added 1 lb. halved cherry tomatoes. I used a medium red onion instead of small. It turned out wonderful and I received many compliments. It is better after sitting a long time. I hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stevens Point, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2006
Excellent change to the traditional potato salad - My culinary students and I added 3/4 cup of Miracle Whip to fill the missing flavor gap. Everyone really liked this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Eastland, Texas, USA
Living In: Irving, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2006
This recipe was great! I was looking for a potato salad w/ no mayo and this was right on target. Great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2007
My guests like this salad a lot and ask for the recipe. I make it ahead of time so the flavors can meld and sprinkle freshly made crisp bacon bits on it just before serving--I love the results. This is an especially nice salad for a an outdoor meal since we don't have to worry about it sitting out too long. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Almost Fat-Free Green Onion Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad that’s almost entirely fat-free.

Romano Bean Salad

See how to make a simple summer bean salad with garlic and mint dressing.

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States