Green Bean and Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
Use white vinegar...balsamic made it all brown
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
have made this for several family functions and always gets rave reviews. it really does taste best if left to chill overnight. i did add a little mayo just for extra texture - but only about a tbls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Muffinmom
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
This was excellent! I used more of the beans from my garden, along with three red potatoes, green onions (because I didn't have a red one), and rather than all basil, I used an even mix of fresh basil and dill. I also added about 1/2 C chopped red pepper for color and more sweetness. The flavors combined with the dressing were wonderful. I took the advice of one reviewer and I made this about an hour before dinner, and then after mixing everything, I let it sit at room temp. for that hour. The flavors melded perfectly. SO GOOD- I will be making this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffinmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
This turned out really well, but i'm giving it 4 stars because i did make adjustments. As suggested, i doubled the amount of non-dressing ingredients, and it ended up being a good ratio of dressing to salad. It still seemed a little strong at first, but after i put it in the fridge for a bit, it was really good. It was a hit at the bbq, and a great alternative since i try not to do mayo based foods!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eriko

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
This was soooooo good. My husband and I couldn't stop eating it. And I at the leftovers the next day and it still tasted fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
I served this for a family gathering and it was a huge hit. My only comment is that potatoes will not get tender in 15 minutes. Plan on 25 to 30 minutes and cook the beans separately in the microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Brown City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
We really like this non-mayo potato salad just the way it was first posted. The flavors are right on. I've made it for a couple of parties and it was very well received. I do like the suggestions of a cold water bath for the green beans to retain bright green color and the addition of bacon once in a while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
I didn't think this was anything special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
I wasn't sure about this one, but the result was absolutely phenomenal! On the advice of a friend who made a similar recipe, I modified the sauce a bit. I used extra virgin olive oil, minced garlic from a jar, fresh lemon juice, fresh basil, and just a splash of balsamic vinegar (I added this to taste). The garlic and basil really make this, I think. This is the only way we eat potatoes now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill in Ankeny, IA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Living In: Ankeny, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2008
So good! This is my new go-to recipe for potlucks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Eureka, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Almost Fat-Free Green Onion Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad that’s almost entirely fat-free.

Romano Bean Salad

See how to make a simple summer bean salad with garlic and mint dressing.

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States