Green Bean and Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
My fiance really liked this recipe. We are vegetarians so I substituted with cream of mushroom soup. The first time I made it I only used half the cheese and that was great. The second time I used the full amount, but I thought it turned out too cheesy. Next time I'll stick with 1/2 pound of colby. Other than that it makes a great alternative to the usual green bean casserole for Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2007
Extremely disappointing. I had to double my cooking time to get my fresh pototoes the consistency I wanted. The cream of chicken was very overpowering and it was way too cheesy/greasy. I prefer lighter casseroles and this one definitely sits heavy. I will not make this again. I gave it two stars instead of one because my boyfriend thought it edible (where as I did not).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yeongmee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
It really did taste excellent, but it was too greasy and upset my stomach afterwards. I think next time I'll try half the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Whiteland, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
I made this for Christmas, and everyone enjoyed it. I used fresh potatoes, though. I would recommend adding some onion and garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
Made this for our family Christmas as a change from the regular Green Bean Casserole. It got great reviews. Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. DeCanio

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidney, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
I made this recipe exactly as given, and it was deicious. It was so simple, and would be easy to tweak based on your own taste or availability of ingredients. Next time I'll add black pepper, and either cut back on the cheese a bit or add some ham as other reviewers mentioned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
I used fresh potatoes..cheddar cheese added garlic powder and a small onion it took FOREVER to cook but the end result was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Confection Ink.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: The Colony, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
This recipe was excellent! I made this for a potluck Thanksgiving dinner and got many compliments on it. Five people wanted the recipe for this dish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Surpriseitswendy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
I took this to a family dinner and most everyone liked it, but I think next time I will cut back a little on the cheese. One pound shredded made this kind of soupy. Other than that, it was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
Quick easy and everybody liked. Nice change from greenbean casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States