Green Bean and Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
Made this for dinner tonight, a side with roasted chicken. Only I used one can green beans and three cans of potatoes...used velvetta as I didn't have any colby. Very good! All ingredients were in my house, perfect because we are having a blizzard right now in Iowa! Thanks for the great recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
I used fresh green beans and potatoes for this in place of the canned, boiling them beforehand. This wasn't bad, but it was rather bland. Wish I had added something more to it. It seemed like too many calories for something that was so-so in flavor, though perhaps I'm just not a vegetable casserole kind of gal. It all did end up getting eaten however, with no complaints, but no rave reviews either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy F.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
So easy, so great, so good! Served with a "plain 'ole hamburger" without the roll makes a complete meal. dessert is Vanilla instant pudding with whipped topping and WALLAH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
I used fresh green beans, Yukon potatoes and whatever cheese I had in the frig. I also used a can of mushroom soup. I decided to try added turkey sausage (sliced and browned first) and added some seasonings as others recommended. (pepper, onion and garlic) I put this in the crockpot to see how it would turn out. Ends up, I had to leave it on high for 4 hours till it was done! (I didn't realize I would have to cook it that long but I guess it was because I used fresh ingredients) But after waiting that long it was tasty. Perfect meal for the cool weather!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by truthsthattransform

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Living In: Margate, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
This is an awesome dish. I didn't use canned potatoes- I used simply potato diced with onion. I added some salt pepper and garlic powder. You can add all sorts of stuff to this and it's awesome reheated the next day- preferably fried! Yum! Thanks for sharing- this will become a staple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
The husband loved it, so did I...and our kid ate it because we made him. I only used half of the cheese because it's all I had, but now I can't imagine having used a whole pound. It's super greasy, but delicious. For the heck of it, I added a little extra cheese on top with some crumbled crispy bacon. I'm sure the leftovers won't last long. I might even put bread crumbs on top next time like another user had done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.chlarson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Rochester, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
This is the perfect potato casserole! My family and I loved it ! The only change we made was that we used fresh potatoes instead of canned potatos. We will definatly use this recipe again Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roswell, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Waco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
We used fresh beans and potatoes. It wasn't that great. Too much cheese (and we're from Wisconsin!) and the soup was pretty runny. It was bland. Maybe with some adjustments it would be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
This is a great recipe. Very simple and leaves plenty of room to change it up with whatever else you want to add it. It's great every time. The only way I can get my picky eaters to eat green beans. Thanks for this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Defiance, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
Won't be making this again. Used fresh instead of canned potatoes but I think this recipe has way too much cheese. No one would eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sanzoe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Excelsior, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States