Green Bean and Portobello Mushroom Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
I mixed in the cheese like the other reviewer and topped at the end of cooking with both almonds and canned fried onions. I used sliced almonds, not slivered. Also only had pancetta and used it instead of bacon. Great. Made this for Thanksgiving -- where I don't really think garlic should be with all of those other milder flavors, so I omitted all of the garlic. Kids had friends over later and ate this first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
Fabulous flavor! Brings life to an old classic! Loved the almonds
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
I made this for Thanksgiving diner and it was a HIT! I promised to make it again for Christmas! Everyone loved it! The slivered almonds and the bacon gave this a nice crunch along with the french fried onions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wayne, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hohenwald, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
Try making your own cream sauce with finely chopped mushrooms added to avoid the MSG in the canned soup. I have done it this way and it tastes just as good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: El Cajon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
The "Seasoned Salt with no MSG" that is called for sounds great, but every canned Cream of Mushroom soup I've seen has MSG/flavor enhancer in its ingredients so it's still there ... that's the only reason I didn't give 5 stars. Anyone know something to substitute for the canned soup that doesn't have MSG?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
This is an awesome substitute to the classic green bean casserole. My family absolutely loved it and asked me to make it every year!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2006
I have been looking for a variation of the usual cream of mushroom/green bean casserole dish for the Passover holiday, and after reading the reviews on this recipe I tried it. It was an incredible hit. My family loved it and couldn't stop raving about it. You can make it the night before and just add the cheese the next day after warming. The only change I made to the recipe was to use turkey bacon in lieu of real bacon for kosher reasons. I will definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
Too much garlic for me. I am going to try this again with cream of mushroom soup instead of roasted garlic and maybe only 1 clove of garlic. I think with these changes it will be 5 star since we arn't garlic fans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2005
I love this casserole. It was delicious. Creamy and full of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
The second time I made this I could not get baby portobello mushrooms, so I used the big adult ones in their place. I took off the stem and cut the cap into half inch dice - thought it was even better. Due to time restrictions, I made the dish and after putting in the casserole dish I out in the refrigerator over night. The next day I left it in the oven an extra five minutes before adding the cheese. Came out great - gave away copies of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States