Green Bean and Portobello Mushroom Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2005
Despite switching out the cheddar for deep fried onions, I give this recipe a perfect rating! The taste, the presentation, the ease and make-ahead ability deserve nothing less! I've been ill and it was the first dish I've made in months for the big Easter dinner (45+ people) and it was more than a hit! I loved the mushroom sauce so much before adding the green beans I turned around and made it a second time as chunky soup! The family devoured it! I've since made it again with whole & powdered garlic, regular mushroom soup and plain mushrooms... again a hit with everyone, even added left over rice for a twist the next day! Thanx a million for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kathleen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kenora, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2004
I made this for Thanksgiving, except I added fried onions on top. I also mixed the cheese in with the rest of the ingredients and let it melt before putting it in the oven instead of topping the casserole with cheese. It was very good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2006
I have been looking for a variation of the usual cream of mushroom/green bean casserole dish for the Passover holiday, and after reading the reviews on this recipe I tried it. It was an incredible hit. My family loved it and couldn't stop raving about it. You can make it the night before and just add the cheese the next day after warming. The only change I made to the recipe was to use turkey bacon in lieu of real bacon for kosher reasons. I will definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
YUM - it goes really well with the traditional Thanksgiving meal. I made the recipe for Thanksgiving and it disappeared so fast that I had to make a second double batch so we could have more leftovers! Everyone liked the crunchy texture that the almonds gave. I substituted frozen cut green beans and used regular cream of mushroom soup adding a little extra chopped garlic. The second time I didn't have baby portabello mushrooms so I used button mushrooms; it wasn't as good with the button mushrooms. Next time I'll try french cut green beans (probably frozen) and definitely use baby portabellos/crimini mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Superior, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
The second time I made this I could not get baby portobello mushrooms, so I used the big adult ones in their place. I took off the stem and cut the cap into half inch dice - thought it was even better. Due to time restrictions, I made the dish and after putting in the casserole dish I out in the refrigerator over night. The next day I left it in the oven an extra five minutes before adding the cheese. Came out great - gave away copies of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2005
This recipe really just gave my old fresh green beans a kick. I didn't add the cream of mush or the cheese because I like neither. I used fresh green beans and cooked them in a bit of water with the bacon, garlic, onion, and pepper on the bottom of the pan until right before the green beans were edible. I then added the mushrooms. By the time the mushrooms were done the beans were, too. It cut down on the fat and salt intake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2004
I made this for Eatser and it was a hit with the family. I used 1 1/2 lbs of fresh green beans, cooked and cut in half (fresh is so much better than canned green beans). Used a can of cream of muchroom soup (that's what I had on hand). Did not use all of the 1/4 cup of oil it called for. I toasted the almonds in a non stick pan until they were light brown in color (not burned) and used fried onions(in the can) for the top, not the cheese. Very tasety, would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
The first thing you should know is that my husband absolutely loathes the traditional Green Bean Casserole. We NEVER, EVER have it on any holiday. This was an experiment for us. I used only 6 ounces of baby bellas in this recipe and used the plain fat-free cream of mushroom soup, and pressed in one or two cloves of fresh garlic. I also used frozen beans (a one-pound sack, and I cooked them before adding them) instead of the canned. What we ended up with was a crunchy, flavorful, colorful, interesting and delicious dish WHICH, by the way, my husband had SECONDS of! The leftovers were even tastier the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jana Sue

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boone, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2004
THIS IS REALLY GOOD . I ADDED I CAN CREAM OF MUSHROOM AND I CAN CREAM OF CHICKEN AND DOUBLED THE REST OF THE RECIEPE ALSO A LITTLE MORE GARLIC AND SOME FRESH LEMON . IT REALLY IS GOOD . WE ARE STILL SNACKIN ON IT YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
Excellent recipe!!! What a great change from the same old(but still great)green bean casserole. I hestitated trying a new and different-sounding recipe (especially with company for Thanksgiving dinner!) But I'm glad I did, it was a great success with everyone. I did as suggested by another reviewer and substituted the canned french-fried onions in place of the cheese. I'd definitely recommend trying this yummy recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States