Green Bean and Mushroom Medley Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
This is an easy and nutritious go-to side dish but I had to make a few changes that helped bring it over the top. I switched out the carrots for sliced up red and yellow peppers and I used a few tbsp's of olive oil instead of butter. I sautéed the onions and garlic first, then threw in the veggies. I skipped the step where you steam the green beans. After about 5 minutes I added about 1/2 cup of chicken stock and allowed it to reduce for about 10 more minutes. Then at the very end I added some chopped fresh parsley and sliced kalamata olives. I suppose I changed so much that it's practically a new recipe, but it really came out so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Neen718

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
so gooood! i made about two servings but ate it all myself! one carrot, half an onion, a handful each of green beans and mushrooms. i sautéed my mushrooms and onions in a little bit of bacon fat and used three large cloves of garlic (i have an obsession with it) and i also used a sweet chili sauce so i added a pinch of cayenne pepper. i also added a bit of rosemary and thyme per other reviews. i only seasoned with pepper. it had just the right amount of kick. i ate it all before my main dish! will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
It was super easy and delicious. It wasn't OMG delicious, but it is a good "safe" dish to make because basically everybody likes it. I took it to a party and every single person there had some. I think it was the only dish that appealed to everyone. It's not an attention getter, but it's a crowd pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
My husband is a green bean fanatic and loved this recipe. Based on other reviews I omitted the salt. I also used frozen string beans. I make this regularly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corbin, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
Excellent way to prepare green beans. I used baby portabella mushrooms, very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
I am always searching for veggie recipes that the kids will eat. This dish was a hit. Very tasty as is. I did not make any changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
Loved this side dish! I added minced garlic, and instead of salt/seasoned salt/garlic salt, I added dried thyme and dried parsley, black pepper, and kosher sea salt. It had a wonderful flavor! will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
Very good and easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
Easy & tasty! Doubled the amount of green beans, just because I had them. Really enjoyed this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
Very flavorful way to prepare mixed veggies. I brought them to a family gathering as an alternative to green bean casserole and they were a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plainfield, Indiana, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 376) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Green Bean Almondine with Garlic & Blue Cheese

Trick out your green bean side dish with roasted garlic & tangy blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States