Green Bean and Mushroom Medley Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
This was very good. Since we were having an Asian type Salmon dish, I threw on some toasted sesame seeds after we cooked them. Also used minced garlic in lieu of garlic salt since I try to avoid as much salt as I can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
I thought there was just way too much salt called for in this recipe so I opted to use fresh Hawaiian sea salt and pepper instead. I also used half of an onion sliced instead of one whole onion. I skipped step one of boiling the carrots and green beans in water. I added 2T of butter to the skillet, then sautéed the onions and garlic before adding the carrots and green beans. When the vegetables were almost tender-crisp, I added the sliced mushrooms. I seasoned the vegetables to taste. The taste was good but had I used the entire salt called for I know it would have been an overkill and inedible. I also did not use the entire ¼ cup of butter called for as I felt that I did not need that much. The vegetables were crisp-tender yet colorful and eye appealing. As for overall taste I thought it was ok. I served this with, “Ono Spareribs,” also from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
Very tasty. I left out the carrots and used olive oil in place of some of the butter. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
This was simple and super flavorful, I used a bit of olive oil, no butter and baby carrots and fresh garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naverymom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moberly, Missouri, USA
Living In: La Grange, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
A few will say that by changing a recipe to taste, you are no longer reviewing that recipe. I say, without this recipe, I'd never have found the BEST green bean recipe of my life. Hands down the only recipe I have where everyone will eat the hated green beans. I'd happily have absconded with the pan and had nothing else, & I'm not vegetarian. Changes I made, based on my desires & some pointers posted here: split the butter in half and added 2 tbsp canola oil. (Just don't like olive!) Omitted the salt, up the seasoned salt to 3/4 tsp, garlic powder instead of salt AND added 2 tsp minced garlic. At the end, sprinkled the surface with salt, and sprinkled 1/4 C Parmesan on top. I followed procedure, even when I didn't want to. Steamed my beans and carrots, which I had julienned. For anyone doing this, follow another reviewer's advice; steam the green beans alone for a few minutes before adding the carrots. I didn't. No major consequences, but the veggies would've been more uniform. However, as the mushrooms and onions ended up being a similar texture to the thinly julienned carrots, it didn't really matter! I give this a HUGE 5 STARS. The best veggie recipe I possess. I love all 4 vegetables in the medley. I can't express my thanks enough. As one reviewer mentioned, make this when the dish will accompany something that can be made ahead, or in an oven or slow cooker. This will come out perfectly if you give it your attention, and knife skills. BEAUTIFUL! So delicious. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Worthington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
I pretty much followed the recipe (didn't measure the veggies really), and decreased the amount of butter a little bit. Turned our delicious and was the perfect accompaniment for a dinner party. Looked lovely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnitaConchita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Temecula, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
Great way to use seasonal veggies! I used sesame oil and tossed some sesame seeds on it at the end!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa Vaughan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
Used more green beans, less onion, and only seasoned salt for salt. Added little garlic powder, rosemary, and thyme. Cooked green beans and carrots on "fresh vegetable" setting in microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
Rave reviews from household... used less salt and didn't use carrots. Also used some garlic scapes in about the same length as the green beans (cooked exactly the same way) and everyone thought it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EIKNIP

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
This was such a good side dish! Even my 2 year old son at his veggies when we had this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Franklin, New York, USA
Living In: Raymore, Missouri, USA

Displaying results 101-110 (of 376) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Green Bean Almondine with Garlic & Blue Cheese

Trick out your green bean side dish with roasted garlic & tangy blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States