Green Banana Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2005
Yum, Amazing! With a little ketchup, you couldn't tell the difference! Be sure to use small green bananas, and cut them really thin!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2005
Really good. Tastes a lot like fried plantains, but with fewer calories. One of these days I'm going to make both the fried bananas and the tostones (fried green plaintains) and try then side by side so I can know for sure what the taste differences are.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2006
Wow - these are wild!!!! I don't eat much in the way of fried food but these were a hoot to make. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2006
I fried these in olive oil to make them even more healthy. Thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
My grandkids and us adults loved these, thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2007
Thanks so much for sharing! I made these for my family because they LOVE french fries and I am trying to get them to eat better. My partner has not had fries in over a month and so she felt there was no difference in taste other than a mild sweetness. And I do mean mild. Best advice, make sure your oil is heated well and also that you place fries in the oil one at a time to avoid sticking. We salted and peppered and they were great and low fat/low cal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
Very good! I used Safflower oil and they were great... I didn't have any problems with them sticking together or anything- I think it has to do with how many you put in the oil at a time. I'll definitely make these again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahBeez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gaines, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
This is fantastic. My Niece and Nephew who are the worlds pickist eaters couldn't stop eating them. They had the flavor of MILD banana and the texture of a sweet potato. Very Yummy. We buy green bananas on purpose to make a batch of these now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
I was a little nervous about this one but i love trying new things. I have to say it was shockingly good. You really can hardly taste the difference from potato fries except for a slight sweetness. Sooooo good, I'll make these again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
so simple and delish! there's still a hint of banana taste, but coupled with a little salt it creates an interesting and irresistible combination (kind of reminds me of fried plantains...)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Duck Fat-Fried Home Fries

See how to make home fries pan-fried in a bit of flavor-giving duck fat.

How to Make French Fries

Discover the tricks restaurants use to get perfect, super-crispy French fries.

Quick and Easy Home Fries

See how to make crispy home fries the easy way.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States