Green Banana Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
These were GREAT! The Greener the Banana the better the fries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Thorson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseau, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Moorhead, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
My husband and I both loved these. I will be making these again very soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa W.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ashley Shimberg
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
I love love love these! Everyone I serve them to cannot believe they aren't potatoes! The riper the better! All I do is thinly slice the bananas, spray a pan with pam then spray some pam on top of the bananas and sprinkle some salt on them, pop them in the oven for 10 mins, then flip to the other side for 10 mins, and all done! Delicious and a super healthy and low calorie alternative to french fries. Thanks so much Victoria!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Shimberg

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
Well firstly mine looked nothing like the colour of fries in the picture and they were not what I expected. They were a little sweet, which was expected but disappointing. Totally not recommend for people with any high expectations .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
I have very picky roommates, so when they asked me what I was cooking, I just said, "Fries!" They tried them and LOVED them. They were gobbled up in seconds. No advice to improve the recipe, it's perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KimberlyOakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dothan, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Fried a bunch and fooled everyone.Took to our cookout,told them they were Kenya fries,they ate the whole tray.This is our new night time snack. Good for the potassium,and night time leg cramps. Quick,easy and healthy! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
Quite curious, it is also prepared as a side dish in the northern part of Colombia (cities that run along the Atlantic Coast). The tricky part, peeling the unripe (green bananas). Might recommend you do it under running hot/warm water. Watch out for your clothes, the slime will stain them for good. Cut the tips off, use your knife to cut through the outer skin, use the knife's tip to slowly remove it. Cut the fries and place in a container that has water and salt, this will prevent them from taking a brown color. When ready to place in the hot oil take out and pat dry. Unripe bananas are also great to use in soups or simply boiled and served hot, mashed with farmers cheese and some butter. Salt to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
This recipes is really great I had A project on an Afican Food and it tastes really great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pharr, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
Ok, so I am taking these out of the deep fryer as my step-daughter and grandkids arrive, and she ate one and said they were really good, and I said, "that is good, I have never made them before" and she said, "You have never made home fries before?" And I said, "not with bananas" And she said, "you are kidding me, bananas?!" She loved them and the grandkids couldn't get enough of them. Some ate with ketchup, some without. Will be making again and again. Thank you for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gopintos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: California, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2010
These fries weren't bad... but the description is a little deceiving. They still taste like bananas, don’t be fooled. Your kids won’t think you went to McDonald’s!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Duck Fat-Fried Home Fries

See how to make home fries pan-fried in a bit of flavor-giving duck fat.

How to Make French Fries

Discover the tricks restaurants use to get perfect, super-crispy French fries.

Quick and Easy Home Fries

See how to make crispy home fries the easy way.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States