Green Banana Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 26, 2014
These were surprisingly good. Normally, I hate warm bananas, but these didn't really have the same flavour. Different, tasty, and an interesting side dish. Would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
I love green banana fries, it's a staple food where I live ( Guanaja, Bay Islands, Honduras) and most of the Caribbean. Try cutting them into round nuggets or cutting them on a slant rather than like regular frenchfries. Experiment with the amount of slices you put in the oil at a time... It makes a difference. This is good stuff
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by just_jam
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
OMG.. this DOES taste like potato fries.. with a MILD sweetness.. when salted it's almost nonexistent.. for all those who either had way too light or burnt fries.. i can only imagine their deep fryer thermostat is not accurate.. we fried ours for 7 minutes and they were perfect.. maybe their cut was too thin/thick or maybe they didn't use truly green bananas.. ours were super hard to peel and left a very dark sap/tar on our hands once cut/peeled.. salting immediately out of the fryer is mandatory.. either way.. when done exactly as written this is beyond a 5* recipe.. ty so much for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
I love bananas and I love fries, so I thought I would give this a try. I did not care for these at all. I used 2 large bananas, I put them in the deep fryer at 375 and walked off. When I came back at 4 1/2 minutes they were very burned. I then did 2 large ones at 350 for 2 minutes. They came out nicely browned. I tried dipping in ketchup and ranch, I couldn't eat many. They left a horrible aftertaste that I could not get out of my mouth. My husband was able to eat a few that were smothered in ketchup, but he did not like them either. We will stick to potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
I am quite surprised! I had bananas that would not ripen and was considering taking them back to the store and then came a cross this recipe. The only trouble I had was peeling the banana....even with a knife it was rather difficult. I only fried one banana but it was absolutely delicious! VERY much like regular french fries! Thank you for this idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saranac Lake, New York, USA
Living In: Moira, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
Was just ok to me. Nothing to write home about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
It's good for snacking. My 3.5 year old loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Laie, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
I really liked these as a substitute for traditional fries, though I must admit I couldn't find the small green bananas at the grocery store so I opted to use dark green plantains instead. There was no sweetness at all, and with a dip you won't notice that they aren't made from potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pointe-Claire, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
I thought these were really good. I could tell that they weren't potatoes because they had a very slightly sweet taste even though they did not taste like bananas. I really wanted to try them, so I didn't wait until I found completely green bananas. I just used almost completely green bananas. I usually dip fries in ranch, but I didn't want to do that with these. I had planned on trying BBQ sauce but realized after making them that I didn't have any. So, I mixed some peanut butter, soy sauce, and red hot together (which ended up tasting a bit like the flavor of pad thai but spicier). It tasted great with the slightly sweet flavor of the fries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Duck Fat-Fried Home Fries

See how to make home fries pan-fried in a bit of flavor-giving duck fat.

How to Make French Fries

Discover the tricks restaurants use to get perfect, super-crispy French fries.

Quick and Easy Home Fries

See how to make crispy home fries the easy way.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States