Green Avocado Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
I used this recipe as a base, but I made significant changes. I roasted the tomatillos after cutting them in half and putting them face down on a baking pan. I cooked them until the tops were brown and they were soft. I combined them with a ripe avocado, half a bunch of cilantro, salt, lime, and 1/4 of a white onion in the blender. I omitted garlic because I find garlic to overpower the other flavors, even though I usually love garlic. The resulting salsa is amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2006
WOW! I followed this to a tee. It is much better than those good mexican resturants serve with their chips. It is a keeper. No changes needed. A+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TENACITY44

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chariton, Iowa, USA
Living In: Temple, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
Instead of using water, try sour cream. It makes it a little richer but also a little thicker. I left out the garlic too as a personal thing. Very good though. And I agree...It's meant to be consumed with chips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
A squeeze of lime juice really does the trick to keeping the avocado a nice green color!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: High Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
I'm giving this a 4 because my boyfriend really liked it. I didn't like it so well, however. I wish I had used more avocado, because, as is, I could barely taste it. I added a little cumin to improve the flavor. The ingredients don't need to be minced, since they're going into the food processor, anyway. Save yourself some time and just roughly chop them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
This recipe was really good. I added an extra avocado as one other reviewer suggested, and I'm glad I did. Next time will add juice of lime as well. This was too thick for my blender, and my food processor was too small, so had to do it in 2 batches. It was gone in 2 days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
I really like this recipe. The avocado adds a creaminess that's unexpected and the heat isn't too hot. I didn't put in as much cilantro and added lemon juice in hopes it'll keep the avocado from browning in the fridge. Next time I'll add lime if I remember to pick some up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
Love this! And I did add lime...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ellery
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2006
This is the best salsa I have ever made! I tried putting it on a salad, which was a complete waste. It wasn't very good on lettuce, and I really wish I had saved some to try with chips because the salsa was so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2009
i would have given this 5 STARS but i added half a teaspoon of salt and i also think it would have been great with a lime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Avocado Tomatillo Salsa

Discover how to make the perfect summer salsa.

Avocado Salsa

A cool avocado salsa with corn, olives, and red peppers in a tangy vinaigrette.

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States