Green Avocado Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2006
WOW! I followed this to a tee. It is much better than those good mexican resturants serve with their chips. It is a keeper. No changes needed. A+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TENACITY44

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chariton, Iowa, USA
Living In: Temple, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ellery
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2006
This is the best salsa I have ever made! I tried putting it on a salad, which was a complete waste. It wasn't very good on lettuce, and I really wish I had saved some to try with chips because the salsa was so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
This salsa is AMAZING! I make some at least twice a week for my husband and myself. Sometimes I leave half the Jalapeno seeds for extra spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
Instead of using water, try sour cream. It makes it a little richer but also a little thicker. I left out the garlic too as a personal thing. Very good though. And I agree...It's meant to be consumed with chips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
I'm giving this a 4 because my boyfriend really liked it. I didn't like it so well, however. I wish I had used more avocado, because, as is, I could barely taste it. I added a little cumin to improve the flavor. The ingredients don't need to be minced, since they're going into the food processor, anyway. Save yourself some time and just roughly chop them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
Very good tomatillo salsa! Actually had friends licking the bowl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
Great recipe but I thought it needed a little fresh lime juice and salt in the end. Will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
This recipe really was great! As others had suggested, I felt it needed some salt and a little more acidity. I would suggest lime juice, but for those feeling adventurous, try what I did - about 2 tbsp of tequila! It added the perfect kick, especially after heating up as a sauce to dress some chicken with. Excellent recipe, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
I used this recipe as a base, but I made significant changes. I roasted the tomatillos after cutting them in half and putting them face down on a baking pan. I cooked them until the tops were brown and they were soft. I combined them with a ripe avocado, half a bunch of cilantro, salt, lime, and 1/4 of a white onion in the blender. I omitted garlic because I find garlic to overpower the other flavors, even though I usually love garlic. The resulting salsa is amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2009
i would have given this 5 STARS but i added half a teaspoon of salt and i also think it would have been great with a lime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Avocado Tomatillo Salsa

Discover how to make the perfect summer salsa.

Avocado Salsa

A cool avocado salsa with corn, olives, and red peppers in a tangy vinaigrette.

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States