Green Avocado Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 11, 2014
Very easy and VERY tasty! We have a local restaurant that serves a dip similar to this. I roasted the tomatillos before I blended everything together and then squeezed the juice of one lime into the mix. It was fantastic! My Latina mother-in-law gave it her stamp of approval. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
Definitely add lime or lemon juice. I added olive oil instead of water. Thanks for sharing this great recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
A squeeze of lime juice really does the trick to keeping the avocado a nice green color!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: High Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
This recipe was really good. I added an extra avocado as one other reviewer suggested, and I'm glad I did. Next time will add juice of lime as well. This was too thick for my blender, and my food processor was too small, so had to do it in 2 batches. It was gone in 2 days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
I really like this recipe. The avocado adds a creaminess that's unexpected and the heat isn't too hot. I didn't put in as much cilantro and added lemon juice in hopes it'll keep the avocado from browning in the fridge. Next time I'll add lime if I remember to pick some up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
Love this! And I did add lime...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2009
i would have given this 5 STARS but i added half a teaspoon of salt and i also think it would have been great with a lime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
I used this recipe as a base, but I made significant changes. I roasted the tomatillos after cutting them in half and putting them face down on a baking pan. I cooked them until the tops were brown and they were soft. I combined them with a ripe avocado, half a bunch of cilantro, salt, lime, and 1/4 of a white onion in the blender. I omitted garlic because I find garlic to overpower the other flavors, even though I usually love garlic. The resulting salsa is amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
This recipe really was great! As others had suggested, I felt it needed some salt and a little more acidity. I would suggest lime juice, but for those feeling adventurous, try what I did - about 2 tbsp of tequila! It added the perfect kick, especially after heating up as a sauce to dress some chicken with. Excellent recipe, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
Great recipe but I thought it needed a little fresh lime juice and salt in the end. Will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Avocado Salsa

A cool avocado salsa with corn, olives, and red peppers in a tangy vinaigrette.

How to Make Avocado Tomatillo Salsa

Discover how to make the perfect summer salsa.

Avocado Mango Salsa

See how to make a hot and sweet salsa for meats, chips, and fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States