Green and Red Tomato and Corn Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
This was a great recipe. I really loved the fresh vegetables and combination. I varied slightly based on ingredients I had. I put allspice, a potato, a shallot, and a dash of worcestershire and it was great. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2000
This is a great soup recipe - I did "doctor it" with additional seasonings such as Worchestershire sauce and a bit of oregano and basil (minusing the cumin), and, I took all the seeds out of the tomatoes prior to adding to soup. Everyone LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2006
I changed it to more of an Italian flavor...Basil and a touch of Oregano instead of the Cummin...At serving, sprinkled with Parmesean Cheese and finely chopped green onions..Served with crunchy Garlic Bread
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greeley, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2005
Wonderful summer soup. I put a lot more corn than was called for and cut back the broth to 4 or 5 cups so that it would be thicker. We added some hot sauce when served.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2003
This is a wonderful recipe! I added black beans, carrots, and more garlic. A very light, clean, and refreshing soup that is super yummy too. Perfect with a hunk of your favorite bread. You can always experiment with your own favorite seasonings. Highly recommend this versatile soup! Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2004
Need I say YUMMY! it was excellent. I didn't put as much broth (4-5 cups) but still it turned out great and was the easiest thing to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2004
THIS WAS A WONDERFUL SOUP. I DID ADD MORE FRESH CORN AND A LOG OF SWEET CREAMED CORN. LEFT THE GREEN TOMATOES OUT AND ADDED A SMALL CAN OF GREEN CHILIES. MY HUSBAND AND I LOVED IT. THANKS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
A wonderful soup! And a perfect end to the reign of my over zealous tomato plants. I used 6 medium green and 6 mixed bag-ripe yellow and red tomatoes, 8 cups of instant veggie broth, added a handful of chopped up fresh basil, a couple little yellow squashes and a can of red kidney beans. Then just to punch it up (we like things smokin') I threw in 3/4 cup of Bueno brand frozen hot red chile puree. The cut sweet corn is such a great compliment to the tangy tomatoes. Awesome!!! My meat-mongerin' family didn't even notice that we were going Vegan for the night and hunkered-in like it was steak! Took me all of 1/2 hour to make a huge pot. Thank you, thank you, thank you. What a practical, delicious fall dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ling

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
This soup is great eaten like tortilla strip soup. Place tortilla chips/strips in the bottom of the bowl and pour the soup over it. Garnish with grated cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
This is a great recipe for a hot summer day. I increased the amount of corn slightly and used tomatillos rather than green tomatoes. I also increased the amount of garlic to 3 cloves. The soup is slightly spicy but also refreshing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wmihalo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hammond, Indiana, USA
Living In: Munster, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States