Green and Red Tomato and Corn Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
Delicious with shredded chicken. A great way to use all the green tomatoes at the end of the season. We're making a huge batch and freezing in lunch sized jars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
This was a good recipe to use for my green tomatoes. I also added carrots, a bit more garlic, green beans, and red & green peppers. It was a bit more bland than I typically like my soups, but I will use this recipe again, maybe add a little seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
Very good! We had an abundance of both fresh red and green tomatoes. I added a few things as was suggested by previous reviews. Used 3 cloves of garlic, 1 tablespoon Worcestershire sauce,1/2 tsp crushed red pepper flakes & fresh basil to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gertrude Gourmet

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
This is a great recipe for a hot summer day. I increased the amount of corn slightly and used tomatillos rather than green tomatoes. I also increased the amount of garlic to 3 cloves. The soup is slightly spicy but also refreshing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wmihalo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hammond, Indiana, USA
Living In: Munster, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
This soup is great eaten like tortilla strip soup. Place tortilla chips/strips in the bottom of the bowl and pour the soup over it. Garnish with grated cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
A wonderful soup! And a perfect end to the reign of my over zealous tomato plants. I used 6 medium green and 6 mixed bag-ripe yellow and red tomatoes, 8 cups of instant veggie broth, added a handful of chopped up fresh basil, a couple little yellow squashes and a can of red kidney beans. Then just to punch it up (we like things smokin') I threw in 3/4 cup of Bueno brand frozen hot red chile puree. The cut sweet corn is such a great compliment to the tangy tomatoes. Awesome!!! My meat-mongerin' family didn't even notice that we were going Vegan for the night and hunkered-in like it was steak! Took me all of 1/2 hour to make a huge pot. Thank you, thank you, thank you. What a practical, delicious fall dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ling

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
A great recipe! Love the chewy bits of corn. I did add more cumin for more flavour, a handful of small pasta bits and coriander. Yummy and a great way to use up those green tomatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
Great Great Great! I added two cans of red kidney beans for protein and used crispy canned corn! This was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by xezandria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Oviedo, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
We have friends who are vegans, and they loved this soup just as much as we did (and we like a bit of meat with our meals) I added a chopped leek (was in the fridge) and tomatillos since green tomatoes are a seasonal item here in MN. I also used canned tomatoes instead of fresh and frozen corn instead of fresh. The weather dudes are talking inches of snow tonight. . . fresh is what is on hand. I also added a can of black beans per another reviewer and I added some chopped jalapeno since most reviewers recommend more heat. The jalapeno gave just enough for heat for those with milder palates, but some of us added a dash of hot sauce too. Thank you for this idea. A taste of summer in the winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Crosse, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Roseville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
This was a good soup and a good way to use up some garden veggies. We followed the directions except adding in a few peppers (From the garden) and a can of black beans. We increased the spice level by adding some taco seasoning and increasing the cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel den Hoed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spijkenisse, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States