Green and Red Tomato and Corn Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2003
This is a wonderful recipe! I added black beans, carrots, and more garlic. A very light, clean, and refreshing soup that is super yummy too. Perfect with a hunk of your favorite bread. You can always experiment with your own favorite seasonings. Highly recommend this versatile soup! Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2006
I changed it to more of an Italian flavor...Basil and a touch of Oregano instead of the Cummin...At serving, sprinkled with Parmesean Cheese and finely chopped green onions..Served with crunchy Garlic Bread
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greeley, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2000
This is a great soup recipe - I did "doctor it" with additional seasonings such as Worchestershire sauce and a bit of oregano and basil (minusing the cumin), and, I took all the seeds out of the tomatoes prior to adding to soup. Everyone LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2005
Wonderful summer soup. I put a lot more corn than was called for and cut back the broth to 4 or 5 cups so that it would be thicker. We added some hot sauce when served.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
Very good soup! Would recommend other spices than cumin, since not everyone likes it - garam masala and fresh cilantro, Italian seasoning, or my favorite, Hungarian paprika, both sweet and hot. Found that it needed to simmer a bit longer, about 25 minutes. Added a pinch of sugar to counteract acidity, a bay leaf (remove at the end of cooking) and less veg broth, 1 carton + 1 cup of water. If you have fresh parsley, add some to the soup at the table. Excellent use of green tomatoes if you're not into frying or canning/pickling them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2004
Need I say YUMMY! it was excellent. I didn't put as much broth (4-5 cups) but still it turned out great and was the easiest thing to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2007
I made this with red tomatoes and tomatillos - turned out great. Husband added some hot sauce for a bit of a kick. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
This soup had a surprising tanginess to it. We thought it was a little bland, but bacon bits really perked it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
This was a great recipe. I really loved the fresh vegetables and combination. I varied slightly based on ingredients I had. I put allspice, a potato, a shallot, and a dash of worcestershire and it was great. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2005
VERY GOOD REIPE. IF YOU HAVE A GARDEN AND NEED TO GET RID OF GREEN AND RED TOMATOES...THIS IS THE RECIPE FOR YOU. VERY SUMMER LIKE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KAREN325

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Douglasville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States