Green and Red Tomato and Corn Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
This soup is delicious - nearly perfect. I like it best without any seasoning at all... no cumin, no italian seasoning. The flavor of the vegetables is perfect. I only use 3 cups vegetable broth because we like a thicker soup and because my red tomatoes are very juicy. A sprinkling of parmesan cheese on top makes it just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PUNKGIRL
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
Fresh & tasty soup! Added black beans and a bit of cayenne pepper & worcestershire to make it a bit heartier and more zesty. Will definitely make this again with next fall's green tomatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coolmonkshoes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
This soup was delicious, i added some carrots, cooked chicken and some red thai curry paste cos i like my soup to have a kick to it. the rest of my family loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
My boyfriend, the soup junkie, really enjoyed this; I thought it could have used a touch less cumin. I used only 4 cups of broth and ran the stick blender through it to thicken it up a bit. I’ll garnish the leftovers with fresh cilantro. I think this would be great with roasted green chiles. Nice, simple soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
Wonderful summer recipe! I did as others suggested and added some black beans. I offered tabasco on the side. It was an excellent soup and the leftovers were even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2007
I made this with red tomatoes and tomatillos - turned out great. Husband added some hot sauce for a bit of a kick. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
This soup had a surprising tanginess to it. We thought it was a little bland, but bacon bits really perked it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
Very good soup! Would recommend other spices than cumin, since not everyone likes it - garam masala and fresh cilantro, Italian seasoning, or my favorite, Hungarian paprika, both sweet and hot. Found that it needed to simmer a bit longer, about 25 minutes. Added a pinch of sugar to counteract acidity, a bay leaf (remove at the end of cooking) and less veg broth, 1 carton + 1 cup of water. If you have fresh parsley, add some to the soup at the table. Excellent use of green tomatoes if you're not into frying or canning/pickling them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
This was a great recipe. I really loved the fresh vegetables and combination. I varied slightly based on ingredients I had. I put allspice, a potato, a shallot, and a dash of worcestershire and it was great. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2006
I changed it to more of an Italian flavor...Basil and a touch of Oregano instead of the Cummin...At serving, sprinkled with Parmesean Cheese and finely chopped green onions..Served with crunchy Garlic Bread
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greeley, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States