Green and Red Tomato and Corn Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
This soup is delicious - nearly perfect. I like it best without any seasoning at all... no cumin, no italian seasoning. The flavor of the vegetables is perfect. I only use 3 cups vegetable broth because we like a thicker soup and because my red tomatoes are very juicy. A sprinkling of parmesan cheese on top makes it just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PUNKGIRL
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
Fresh & tasty soup! Added black beans and a bit of cayenne pepper & worcestershire to make it a bit heartier and more zesty. Will definitely make this again with next fall's green tomatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coolmonkshoes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
This soup was delicious, i added some carrots, cooked chicken and some red thai curry paste cos i like my soup to have a kick to it. the rest of my family loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
My boyfriend, the soup junkie, really enjoyed this; I thought it could have used a touch less cumin. I used only 4 cups of broth and ran the stick blender through it to thicken it up a bit. I’ll garnish the leftovers with fresh cilantro. I think this would be great with roasted green chiles. Nice, simple soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
Wonderful summer recipe! I did as others suggested and added some black beans. I offered tabasco on the side. It was an excellent soup and the leftovers were even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2007
I made this with red tomatoes and tomatillos - turned out great. Husband added some hot sauce for a bit of a kick. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
This soup had a surprising tanginess to it. We thought it was a little bland, but bacon bits really perked it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
Very good soup! Would recommend other spices than cumin, since not everyone likes it - garam masala and fresh cilantro, Italian seasoning, or my favorite, Hungarian paprika, both sweet and hot. Found that it needed to simmer a bit longer, about 25 minutes. Added a pinch of sugar to counteract acidity, a bay leaf (remove at the end of cooking) and less veg broth, 1 carton + 1 cup of water. If you have fresh parsley, add some to the soup at the table. Excellent use of green tomatoes if you're not into frying or canning/pickling them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
This was a great recipe. I really loved the fresh vegetables and combination. I varied slightly based on ingredients I had. I put allspice, a potato, a shallot, and a dash of worcestershire and it was great. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2006
I changed it to more of an Italian flavor...Basil and a touch of Oregano instead of the Cummin...At serving, sprinkled with Parmesean Cheese and finely chopped green onions..Served with crunchy Garlic Bread
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greeley, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States