Greeked Zucchini Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
I had to make a lot of changes to make this good. The proportions are all wrong. I give this version 5 stars: Use 3/4 of a cup of diced red onion, and 3/4 of a cup of diced green peppers, for one zucchini. Use half a jar (at the most) of sliced and pitted black olives. You need at least a half a cup of feta. When layering, mix in at least 1/2 a teaspoon of rosemary and a pinch of black pepper. (Or it will be tasteless). Also, layer in one teaspoon of finely diced capers. Non-stick oil is not required - it has a lot of moisture due to the veges. A thin film of olive oil on the bottom is plenty. I made these changes and it turned out excellent. It would have been tasteless and disproportionate if I had followed the original recipe. (Other reviews have mentioned that it is "missing something" and I agree. It is missing rosemary and capers and a little pepper)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Famouscook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
Wow, this was among the easiest and yet tasty recipes ever. I got the greek vinegarette recipe here under Absolutely Fabulous Greek/House Dressing. This was an incredible find and will be on the menu at least once a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Portland, Maine, USA
Living In: Fort Pierce, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
This was wonderful. I made a few changes, by adding a clove of minced garlic, fresh basil, and 1 (4oz) olives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
Made this twice, once as written, then next with the revized directions by 'famouscook', and as a consideration, I didn't review the first try. However, I love zucchini and tried the second time with wonderful results. I don't know who you are, but I love you... : ) Gave YOU five stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ur2good2btru
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2007
this was pretty good.. however.. i think if i were to marinate the veggies before hand it would have taken it to a whole other level ..lol.. i look forward to making this dish again.. but i have to get olives! i love greek food, and this was so simple to make! and its fairly healthy.. i used a very light dressing instead of a regular.. but overal it was pretty good! but it was missing a lil something.. not sure what.. but something lol maybe the olives lol.. will definately make this for my sister when she comes next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ur2good2btru

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
Awesome and quick! Instead of greek dressing, I used balsamic (what I had in the fridge).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2007
There must be a typing error, I never would have put 2 cans of black olives! It depends on your preferences too. You can add more or less of any veggie or try different ones as well as a different dressing. It's a very easy and versatile recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BBLUELINE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kenora, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
I thought this was pretty good. I followed the suggestions made by famous cook and am glad I did. Had never had capers before, but found the to be pretty tasty. Will definitely make this again using the suggested modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2007
The basics here are wonderful. It took some adjusting to suit my tastes, and I baked it in the oven in a deep casserole, uncovered. To keep with the Greek theme, I added oregano, garlic and used kalamata olives. I baked the tomatoes with the other veggies and added the cheese the last 15 minutes. The guests loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Livermore, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2007
One of the best zuchinni dishes ever! I didn't have a Greek viniagrette dressing and used a sun dried tomato one instead and it was fabulous! My kids even like this. Excellent balance of flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Stuffed Zucchini Boats

Zucchini are stuffed with sausage and topped with tomato sauce and melty cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States