Greek Tzatziki Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
Awesome recipe. I didn't have zest on hand and it's fine! I used the juice from the plastic lemon. Perfect on sandwiches too! Help tips! 1. To make the dip less runny, strain the yogurt! This will leave you with 16oz, half the size the yogurt that you started with! That means you will need to halve all the other ingredients too so that it won't over power the yogurt taste. 2. Lessen the SALT. Add to taste. 3. Considering 16oz of yogurt, I would use 1 whole English cucumber seeded and CUBED to the size of a centimeter (elegance and crunch!). Your preference! 3. Tip to make the dip less runny, sprinkle a little salt on your cubed/grated cucumber and wrap it in a paper towel to soak up the cucumbers juice. 4. Add the cucumber to the dip when you're about to serve it. If it isn't added to the yogurt yet, keep the cucumber in a container with a fold paper towel to soak up excess moisture, keeping the cucumber crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
Loved it and it was very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Stephanie*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stuyvesant, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
This was a very good tasting recipe, but had a little too much dill for my tastes. I will cut the amount of dill in half the next time. However, it was still very good, and seemed to get better the more I ate. I did use Greek yogurt, so I didnt' have to strain it. I feel like it could have been a little thicker, though...so next time, I will try to drain the cucumber a little more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
So good! Loved it, even better next day and day after
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
Love this stuff... always double the recipe, we can just use this everyday on a variety of foods..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cheryl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marlboro, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Freehold, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
This recipe had exactly the taste I was expecting. I also used the non-fat greek style yogurt so I didn't have to do any straining. I found the 3 tbl spns of Dill to be a little too much (changed the texture of the Tzatziki Sauce), next time I will try 1 tbl spn and add more if desired.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jjm1982

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Lenox, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Used a whole cucumber - didn't have lemon juice so left it out - I bet if I strained the yogurt and the grated cucumber it would have turned out better - as is now = taste is good but too thin = salad dressing consistency - will try to add a 2nd cucumber strained this time to save it - also added 2 teaspoons of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Greeley, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
a little tart
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
Tasty, but I made the mistake of straining the yogurt as most reviewers suggested, but failed to cut back on salt and lemon. If you strain the yogurt, you should cut back on the lemon zest and the salt by half. It's amazing how much liquid strained out of the yogurt. Very important step-- think it would have been runny otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
Ok this is really good. It taste like restaurant style. I was not able to add dill, it tasted good anyway. For the summer this has no price as is lite and refreshing. I would recommend to adjust the lemon to your taste and the salt too, but if you don't do anything to the recipe you would not be dissapointed. I agree with others about the runny texture. I solved using regular yogurt strained or greek yogurt and to allow the cucumber to drain the water . To drain the cucumber you could add a little of salt and drain for half to an hour - don't forget to adjust salt in the recipe if you do this).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking princess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Tzatziki Sauce

Discover Chef John's secret to making the creamiest, best-ever tzatziki sauce.

How to Make Tzatziki Sauce

Pair this creamy cucumber and yogurt sauce with grilled meats and veggies.

Spanakopita (Greek Spinach Pie)

Watch how to make this top-rated Greek spinach pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States