Greek Tzatziki Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
This is so good! To make it creamier, I put the yogurt in a strainer lined with a paper towel (or coffee filter) to get rid of some of the whey for about an hour or two. I substitute balsamic vinegar for the lemon juice and zest. Use the large side of the grater for the cucumber or you will get a wet mush. I will use the whole cucumber. We always serve this with pork tenderloin or on our lamb burgers. It lasts several days. Efharisto(thank you)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FrackFamily5
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
This IS the real deal!! I only made a 1/3 of this recipe and doubled the called for garlic. This was the best Tzatziki! Thank you!! I used lowfat yogurt and let it drain with a coffee filter for about an hour. SO good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2007
This is a wonderful dip. Don't change it. Greek cooking doesn't call for feta cheese in everything, and never in this recipe. It's supposed to be mild and refreshing. Cooling. A similar dip is served in our favorite Greek restaurant. Do as others have suggested make the yogurt cheese (draining the yogurt) so that it will be better supported by the vegetables you use for dipping. Also is good with good sturdy crackers, but a standout with raw veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2008
Yummy goodness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
Yummy! It's kind of thin but I think it makes a great, light salad dressing this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GreenTeaPirate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2007
Yummy, my family just can't get enough of it. I even use it on my burgers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2007
Yummy! One tip: if you use Greek yogurt you don't have to drain first. It is available in almost every supermarket near the regular yogurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hartsdale, New York, USA
Living In: New Rochelle, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2007
I do not strain the yogurt because I like a slightly thinner tzatziki. Leaving it over night thickens it just enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
This tzatziki was a huge hit for my husbands birthday dinner. I served it with crisp pita and greek olives. Went wonderfully with my roasted lamb. I did learn though a little goes a long way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2007
The real deal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Crawfordsville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Tzatziki Sauce

Discover Chef John's secret to making the creamiest, best-ever tzatziki sauce.

How to Make Tzatziki Sauce

Pair this creamy cucumber and yogurt sauce with grilled meats and veggies.

Greek Salad I

Summer vegetables dressed in a tangy, refreshing vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States