Greek-Style Stuffed Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by PJCFolbrecht
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
Definitely a recipe I'll use again! I substituted pork sausage pre-prepared w/ pizza seasonings for the ground pork & basmati rice for the plain white rice. I also added plenty of rosemary. DH used lots of salt, but I liked it just fine w/o.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PJCFolbrecht

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Iowa Falls, Iowa, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2007
These came out great: with some modifications. I've made them twice, both times just with red bell peppers (I prefer them) and added garlic and onions to the meat mix. Instead of just pork, I used a 1/2 beef 1/2 pork mixture. I increased the amount of feta by a bit (also by preference) and the 2nd time I was out of raisins so I used dried cranberries and they came out just as tasty. I also found it didn't fill as many peppers as the recipe indicated, so I cut off the tops of the peppers, piled the little extra on each of the tops, covered them in foil and baked them as well for anyone who wanted a bit of seconds. I left the foil on till the last 5 minutes and increased the cooking time by about 10 min to get the peppers softer. They came out great, and I will certainly be making them again with the changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2007
Very tasty! I sauteed a couple of cloves of crushed garlic along with the pork and onion, and added sun-dried tomato to the final mixture. The peppers could be a little more cooked, otherwise I'd have given the full five stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2007
We just made this tonight. I have to give it only a 4 due to the peppers. If you would parboil them for 5 minutes, they would be a bit softer, which I think would add to the taste. Otherwise, it was a really good, different taste for stuffed peppers. We did add some sliced black olives on top, but I would add them into the mix next time. Thanks for this good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
I used a full pound of ground pork and was able to fill 6 fairly large peppers. I added some Greek spice blend to liven things up a bit. As far as stuffed peppers go, they were the best I've had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2006
Very nice combination of flavors. I didn't follow the proportions of ingredients exactly. I cut the recipe in half but used the full amount of pork and brown rice, but half of the other ingredients. It was about the right amount to fill 4 large peppers. This may be my favorite of the stuffed pepper versions I've tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2006
This is a wonderful recipe. I did tweek it a little per others reviews. I added the pepper to the pork and onion mixture and after putting the tomato puree in I added marjoram, thyme, and oregano and cooked the mixture down for just a few minutes. This took care of the bland problem for me, and hopefully it will work for others as well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wauseon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2006
I used lamb as it is more "Greek" and added some Turkish dried currants for a slightly sweet flavor. They came out delicious and kept for several days, so this recipe is perfect for a lunchbox.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pink Kitty
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2006
Nice, but a little bland, needs garlic, maybe some oregano or rosemary. This was relatively simple to make, and would work well for parties, as once they are in the oven, nothing more needs doing for 40 minutes! I used minced beef instead of pork and used organic red peppers (I find green too bitter) and added a clove of garlic to the meat. The measurements on this recipe seem to be a bit out - I measured for 2 medium size peppers, then quickly prepared a third! (and had some mixture left over). Peppers stayed firm. Next time I will cook for extra 10 mins, toast the pine nuts and add herbs and few more raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pink Kitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wimbledon, Greater London, England, U.K.
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2005
The best stuffed peppers we've ever had. The raisins and feta cheese were wonderful in it. I only used two large peppers so I cut the ingredients in half (for 4) and found that it only filled my two large peppers. And that was also with my keeping the pork at 1/2 lb. rather than cutting it to 1/4. I also used the full 10 oz. of tomato sauce (didn't have puree - it turned out fine). Maybe my peppers were "very" large - but that is something to keep in mind when you are preparing it. Thanks submitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Stuffed Green Peppers I

See how to make 5-star stuffed peppers.

Kelsey's Favorite Stuffed Green Peppers

Peppers stuffed with rice, sauce, and seasoned beef and topped with cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States