Greek-Style Stuffed Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2005
A hit! I left the raisins out and added a bit more feta. I also used lean ground beef instead of pork, and I stuffed some tomatoes too - which were almost better than the peppers. This is a keeper for sure! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2005
The best stuffed peppers we've ever had. The raisins and feta cheese were wonderful in it. I only used two large peppers so I cut the ingredients in half (for 4) and found that it only filled my two large peppers. And that was also with my keeping the pork at 1/2 lb. rather than cutting it to 1/4. I also used the full 10 oz. of tomato sauce (didn't have puree - it turned out fine). Maybe my peppers were "very" large - but that is something to keep in mind when you are preparing it. Thanks submitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2006
This is a wonderful recipe. I did tweek it a little per others reviews. I added the pepper to the pork and onion mixture and after putting the tomato puree in I added marjoram, thyme, and oregano and cooked the mixture down for just a few minutes. This took care of the bland problem for me, and hopefully it will work for others as well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wauseon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2007
These came out great: with some modifications. I've made them twice, both times just with red bell peppers (I prefer them) and added garlic and onions to the meat mix. Instead of just pork, I used a 1/2 beef 1/2 pork mixture. I increased the amount of feta by a bit (also by preference) and the 2nd time I was out of raisins so I used dried cranberries and they came out just as tasty. I also found it didn't fill as many peppers as the recipe indicated, so I cut off the tops of the peppers, piled the little extra on each of the tops, covered them in foil and baked them as well for anyone who wanted a bit of seconds. I left the foil on till the last 5 minutes and increased the cooking time by about 10 min to get the peppers softer. They came out great, and I will certainly be making them again with the changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PJCFolbrecht
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
Definitely a recipe I'll use again! I substituted pork sausage pre-prepared w/ pizza seasonings for the ground pork & basmati rice for the plain white rice. I also added plenty of rosemary. DH used lots of salt, but I liked it just fine w/o.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PJCFolbrecht

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Iowa Falls, Iowa, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
My husband and 8 year old insist I make this once a week. We absolutly love it; it tastes great and the flavor is a nice break from the usual. My changes: I replaced the rasins with 3/4 cup of chopped greek olives, I add a bunch of McCormick Greek Seasoning to the pork while it's cooking, and use petite diced tomatos instead of puree. I also add more feta. I only ever have enough mixture to stuff 6 peppers, not 8. Thank you for this recipe- it's really one of our favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raiven

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
We love this recipe. I've made it several times and my kids gobble it up. I left out the raisans, used more feta, and I've made it with ground beef when the grocery store didn't have ground pork but it was still wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Robinson
Reviewed: May 19, 2008
Delicious!! I doubled the meat, went heavy on the cheese, and stuffed 4 large peppers, cut in half lengthwise and parboiled for 5 minutes. To save a pan I boiled the peppers in the frying pan, then used it to fry the meat. :) Everybody liked them very much - this recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emmy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Spring Hill, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
These were delicious! My changes were made by what I had on hand. 1 lb. ground pork, 8 oz. tomato paste,1/2 cup wine,1/4 cup pine nuts ,1/4 cup raisins,1 T.greek seasoning, 1 t. garlic powder, 1 cup rice. The rest stays the same. I was leary of the raisins but they were good in this. Served with fried eggplant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTEL2003

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Albany, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Tupelo, Mississippi, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Stuffed Green Peppers I

See how to make 5-star stuffed peppers.

Kelsey's Favorite Stuffed Green Peppers

Peppers stuffed with rice, sauce, and seasoned beef and topped with cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States