Greek-Style Stuffed Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2007
These came out great: with some modifications. I've made them twice, both times just with red bell peppers (I prefer them) and added garlic and onions to the meat mix. Instead of just pork, I used a 1/2 beef 1/2 pork mixture. I increased the amount of feta by a bit (also by preference) and the 2nd time I was out of raisins so I used dried cranberries and they came out just as tasty. I also found it didn't fill as many peppers as the recipe indicated, so I cut off the tops of the peppers, piled the little extra on each of the tops, covered them in foil and baked them as well for anyone who wanted a bit of seconds. I left the foil on till the last 5 minutes and increased the cooking time by about 10 min to get the peppers softer. They came out great, and I will certainly be making them again with the changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
I didn't have white wine but tried this with red and it turned out lovely! I made more than we could eat so tried freezing some for left overs but the frozen ones came out watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gwenfron
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
Wow! I really don't normally like stuffed peppers, but my husband does so I decided to give these a try. Yum! I increased the meat to 1 lb., and only used 1 onion. I thought the raisins were going to taste strange, but they really made this dish delicious! I did add a little more rice, maybe a total of 3/4 c. and next time I want to try it with brown rice. Highly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jaqueline Bush
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2006
Nice, but a little bland, needs garlic, maybe some oregano or rosemary. This was relatively simple to make, and would work well for parties, as once they are in the oven, nothing more needs doing for 40 minutes! I used minced beef instead of pork and used organic red peppers (I find green too bitter) and added a clove of garlic to the meat. The measurements on this recipe seem to be a bit out - I measured for 2 medium size peppers, then quickly prepared a third! (and had some mixture left over). Peppers stayed firm. Next time I will cook for extra 10 mins, toast the pine nuts and add herbs and few more raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaqueline Bush

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wimbledon, Greater London, England, U.K.
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2005
The best stuffed peppers we've ever had. The raisins and feta cheese were wonderful in it. I only used two large peppers so I cut the ingredients in half (for 4) and found that it only filled my two large peppers. And that was also with my keeping the pork at 1/2 lb. rather than cutting it to 1/4. I also used the full 10 oz. of tomato sauce (didn't have puree - it turned out fine). Maybe my peppers were "very" large - but that is something to keep in mind when you are preparing it. Thanks submitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
These were delicious! My changes were made by what I had on hand. 1 lb. ground pork, 8 oz. tomato paste,1/2 cup wine,1/4 cup pine nuts ,1/4 cup raisins,1 T.greek seasoning, 1 t. garlic powder, 1 cup rice. The rest stays the same. I was leary of the raisins but they were good in this. Served with fried eggplant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTEL2003

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Albany, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Tupelo, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
The green peppers didn't cook; at 350 the inside of the stuffing was not even hot after 30 minutes! I would recommend putting a tight fitting lid on a casserole or dutch oven- foil is not enough. Also increasing the temperature and the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
I knew this would be a great recipe as soon as I read it. I used grass-fed ground beef and basmati brown rice instead. I cooked the rice in some vegie broth that I had made from the pulp left over after juicing carrots and celery. I also added a cloved of minced garlic to the broth. I also used this broth in place of the wine (because I didn't feel like opening a bottle). I used golden raisins and cooked them with the rice so that they would be nice and plump. I toasted the pine nuts before adding to the mixture and I also added a handful of fresh chopped oregano, margoram, and mint. I had a little bit of leftover homemade marinara sauce so I used that in place of the tomato puree and I also had a bunch of overripe cherry tomatoes from my garden so I chopped those up and added them. I omitted the feta because I didnt have any even though I know that this is an important ingredient for the flavor. I thought the recipe was still delicious even without the feta. I did think about adding some greek olives for the extras salty flavor instead of the feta but maybe next time. I think I will use ground lamb next time too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
Great recipe! I didn't use raisins (didn't have them). Still, it turned out tasty. Expensive recipe, though. Pine nuts, feta and peppers all add up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
My husband and 8 year old insist I make this once a week. We absolutly love it; it tastes great and the flavor is a nice break from the usual. My changes: I replaced the rasins with 3/4 cup of chopped greek olives, I add a bunch of McCormick Greek Seasoning to the pork while it's cooking, and use petite diced tomatos instead of puree. I also add more feta. I only ever have enough mixture to stuff 6 peppers, not 8. Thank you for this recipe- it's really one of our favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raiven

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Stuffed Green Peppers I

See how to make 5-star stuffed peppers.

Kelsey's Favorite Stuffed Green Peppers

Peppers stuffed with rice, sauce, and seasoned beef and topped with cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States