Greek Style Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
These were really good. Used stock and added more oregano. Kept olive oil and lemon. Served with my tatzikki and marinara pork. Would make again. Would do be great to serve for a big crowd with all Greek food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
I would make these potatoes again, but they are a little bland as written. Like other reviewers I omitted the water and just used enough broth to partially cover the potatoes. Next time I'll increase the spices a bit and add some salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Boukey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
I followed DONNA1000 tips, and these turned out perfect! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alyssa Sherman

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Longwood, Florida, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
Rather than chicken bullion and water I used chicken stock (and less of it). I think the key to locking in the flavour is basting the potatoes pretty frequently as you go along. I think you get a significantly better texture if you don't boil the potatoes, and you could use oregano with or instead of rosemary. It's so worth it to cook them, and baste them the full time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Burroughs

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
These are fantastic - really restaurant quality. A huge hit every time I make them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
I just made this tonight and I followed Donna's instruction (below) but a little different. I used 6 Yukon gold potatoes, and I boiled them (quartered) with one chicken boullion cube and one clove of garlic cut in half. I boiled them until almost done and then transferred the potatoes to a baking dish (9x13). As for the marinade I used JUST 1/3 cup olive oil, microwaved my lemon for 25 seconds (also made a cut in the skin- it came out pretty hot in one spot, be careful) and then zested as much of it as I could and then cut it in half, removed the seeds and squeezed out all of the juice. I decided it needed more lemon juice so I added some from a bottle (about a tablespoon). Then I used 1tsp ground thyme, 1tsp dried rosemary and half a crushed chicken boullion cube and finally, ground pepper and pink salt to taste. I stirred it good then poured it over my potatoes and stirred them up to coat them. I baked them uncovered for 15mins at 350 then stirred them and then put them back in for another 15mins, until the outsides get a bit crispy :) My fiancé loved them! He says he doesn't care what real Greek potatoes taste like because apparently my version was awesome. Enjoy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pbcuk101
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
Delicious! I made some changes - par boiled the potatoes (having cut in to 6 not 4)for about 4 mins and only used 3/4 cup of water. I also added zest of a lemon as previously suggested. After 90 mins, and turning twice they were perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
This was so great! I love love love the taste of these potatoes and will be making them very frequently! I did add more garlic and lemon and they were very great. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TnTDunn
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
Definitely could have cut down on the water, but other than that this was a pretty good recipe. I had to triple it, as I was having quite a few guests over, and it took just over 2 hours to cook. That was fine with me, as we had appetizers in the meantime, but I can see that amount of time being an issue on other occasions. The potatoes weren't very lemon-y, actually. I found the rosemary stronger than anything. Some guests mentioned they preferred that, as they didn't like too much lemon flavouring on potatoes. But to be honest I would have preferred a more strong lemon taste. Probably just a personal preference. Taking one star off for the amount of time it takes and the crazy amount of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
Delicious. Very simple, the hardest part is waiting for them to cook. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 388) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hasselback Potatoes

Swedish version of baked potatoes, this is the ultimate spud: tender and crisp.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Oven-Roasted Potatoes

See how to make easy oven-roasted potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States