Greek Spaghetti I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2005
I can't believe that this dish is rated so high!! I followed the instructions exactly as laid out in the recipe and it tasted awful!! We used top quality cheese, but the dish turned out very greasy and oily and had zero flavour. So be forewarned that if you buy good cheese, you're looking at about $10 and it's just no good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2002
It was our first Dinner Party in our new house, and my SO's 30th birthday. A doubly special event. I was struggling with a Vegetarian guest, and another guess that would not eat a vegetable if his life depended on it (he is a meat-and-potatoes-hold-the-potatoes kind of guy). I thought this dish would be safest, pasta and cheese. Who doesn't like pasta and cheese? It turned out awesome! I added some mizithra to the mix, which is just what it needed. Also, not sure if it is clear in the instructions, but it is even better if you brown the butter (and use BUTTER, not that margarine stuff)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2005
Growing up, my grandfather always let me eat my spaghetti with just butter. This is a grown up version of that. I think that roasted garlic would definately give it a richer flavor but for me, it was great the way it is written. You could spruce it up with some sauteed spinach-saute it with the roasted garlic maybe. Anyway, this recipe is simple, and with good basic ingredients very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2001
Delicious main dish, even better with a few sun dried tomatoes and olives
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
This is good. I did make a couple changes though. I cut back on the butter (used butter, not marg) because a couple people said it was greasy. And, like a reviewer before me suggested, I used a bunch of roasted garlic (2 big heads actually) It was very simple to make, and turned out well. Pasta, cheese and butter! How can you go wrong? :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2009
This recipe is a good base recipe... and it's as good as you make it. For the garlic butter, if you use margarine and garlic powder, it's going to taste like margarine and garlic powder... kinda like the frozen garlic bread you get at the grocery. If you want a more upscale flavor, use real butter and minced roasted garlic. A half cup of butter is a LOT of butter, so you might want to cut that back. I only used 2 Tbsp butter and found it to be fine. Also keep in mind you're using a lot of cheese which will release some fat when it's cooked. If just cheese and pasta sounds a little rich (I thought it was) feel free to toss in veggies of your choice. I like artichoke hearts, sun dried tomatoes, kalamata olives, onion, spinach, etc. Overall it's a good dish, and a nice change from the same old spaghetti.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Hooper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: New Albany, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2006
This was quite nice, except I would suggest butter instead of margarine (I think it tastes better), and real garlic to enhance the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2002
Reminded my family of macaroni and cheese. They loved it! I will add more garlic the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
This was sooo delicious! My kids loved it! The only thing different I did was substituting five minced cloves of garlic for the garlic powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keanu
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
This recipe has potential, but was a little greasy. Good flavor, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom23boysn1girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Utica, New York, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lighter Spaghetti Alfredo

See how to make a lighter version of Alfredo with cauliflower.

Spaghetti Carbonara II

Bacon, eggs and pasta--what's not to like?

How to Make Spaghetti alla Carbonara

See how to make simple spaghetti with bacon and egg sauce!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States