Greek Souzoukaklia Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
Your recipe for "souzoukakia" is very good. This recipe is the original greek recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chrismother
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
Very good! Just a few minor changes. I used dried cranberries instead of raisins b/c I had them on hand. Love them! I shaped these into meatballs & cooked them in a frying pan instead of the grill. Then, I let them sit in a low heat oven for about 30 minutes while I got the rest of the food ready. This allowed for more of the fat to drain out, while the meatballs still remained moist & delicious. I will make these again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blestmom4

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
This was really good. I had to omit the raisins as I am diabetic and they are not good for me but it was tasty anyways. I added cumin for a little more flavor and grilled them on the skewers, but they fell off the skewers so they became long burgers. Oh well, it didn't change the flavor. I also roasted some whole sweet potatoes with the meat and added some steamed dijon broccoli to make a complete meal. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Wakefield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2008
What a great way to change up ground beef. I served it with tzatziki sauce and pita, was a huge hit. Later I thought some sliced Vidalia onions would have make the sandwich perfect. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooks4forty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2008
I found this to be a little bland, which is unusual for me since I don't like a huge amount of spices. I really liked the sweetness of the raisins, so I will increase the raisins (which I added whole) and maybe some more spice. Maybe the difference was the fact I didn't have fresh parsley, so I used dried. It was a nice way to use ground beef without having burgers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
Great flavor, easy to make. A definite winner for an unusual barbeque.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Falls Church, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2007
Use a high-quality meat--the ground beef I used was a bit on the tough side. I would mince up the onion before adding, versus chopping. I tried making burgers out of these, but I think they would work better as skewers as the recipe calls for. Good flavor, though. I would try again with some tzatziki sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2007
This is very good. I always use ground turkey. Also, I highly recommend that you mix this up ahead of time, preferably the day before, so that the flavors of the spices have time to permeate the meat. It makes a huge difference! I serve this with pita, lettuce, cucumbers, tomatoes, garlic sauce, and tzaziki sauce. Favorite sides are tabbouli and hummus. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
what a unique flavour! The only thing that I would make sure of for next time is to chop the onions fine! No big chunks. I formed my meat mixture into patties and did them on the foreman grill, did not add the sugar and also I didn't have raisins so I added chopped dates! I will definately make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cabo San Lucas, Baja California Sur, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2006
Weird. But tastey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fountain Hills, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Chicken

See how to make simple Greek-inspired grilled chicken.

Greek Chicken Kozani

See how to make a savory Greek-inspired chicken dish with prunes and paprika.

Spanakopita (Greek Spinach Pie)

Watch how to make this top-rated Greek spinach pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States