Greek Potato Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2004
This was great! My mom makes something similar, but asked for this recipe because she likes it better. Her recipe uses dill and she sautes onions with the garlic. I added the onions to this recipe and the only other thing a did different was to use canned petite diced tomatoes. My daughter kept walking by the frying pan and dipping french bread in the juices. I didn't have any sticking problems like some others, but I used my electric frying pan so I could control the heat better. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Glenview, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2002
Oh my gosh - this is one of the most sublime dishes I've ever had! Absolutely wonderful flavor. Once I put sun dried tomatoes in it but it didn't give it anymore oomph. The Kalamata olives and garlic are all the flavor it needs. Kids and husband wouldn't touch it but that just left more for me!!! Will make this until I die!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOONNOODLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA
Living In: Republic, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2002
This was unbelievably simple, unbelievably good. Gutsy flavour - my kind of food. The best extra virgin olive oil is absolutely necessary here. Although I could easily make a meal of this with salad and flat bread, I had extra kids in the house and so coupled it with Zucchini Patties and some pilaf. Everyone ate everything! Make sure you have plenty of good bread on the table to mop up the delicious juices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Morena

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
fantastic taste! i microwaved potatoes till half done. it saved me from sticking in the pan while frying and save me time as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2002
I found the flavours weren't that complex and I needed to bulk it out a bit with some vegetarian bouillon granules and also topped with some sprinkled feta cheese. However very easy and good for a quick midweek meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2001
I thought this tasted really great...I had a problem with the potatoes sticking to the pan though, while cooking...not enough of a problem to prevent me from making this again though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2001
This dish is the best potato recipe that I have come across yet, serve it with a greek salad and flat garlic bread
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2000
Really tastey simple combination of flavours, first time I didn't use kalamaty olives, the second time I did and it really makes it knockout dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
Fantastic! I can't believe the complexity of flavors in such a simple dish. Warning to those who don't know what kalamatas are - these are not like black olives from a can. They are extremely pungent, so if you don't like intense flavors, you may not like this dish. This is not a failure of the recipe, but your own preference, and you shouldn't rate the recipe down for it. I'm thrilled at having an exciting new potato recipe in my collection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BASTET

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2000
Perfect for a simple, hearty meal. It's incredibly easy to make, and very satisfying, even for non-vegetarians. You can easily substitute garbanzo beans for the olives, adding them at the end of the cooking time. Pair it with a spinach and feta salad and you have a real winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Roast Potatoes

Quick, flavorful roasted red potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States