Greek Potato Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2005
I really love Greek food, but did not care for this combination. I will not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: San Gabriel, California, USA
Living In: Hemet, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2005
This dish has terrific flavors and is easy to make. I used a small can of stewed tomatoes and sprinkled feta cheese on before serving. Dee-lish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NICKGEL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2005
Although it's nothing too special, my family really liked this recipe. However, I'm unsure how it would turn out if following exactly as written. To make it less thick, I used 1 can of organic Italian diced tomatoes AND 1 can of organic stewed tomatoes instead of fresh. Also used fresh oregano, double the garlic,a touch of onion, and a dash of crushed red pepper. Sprinkle with feta and serve with a greek salad...yum! Although it took about 20-25 minutes longer to simmer. And using a potato masher on it before serving gives it a better texture in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2004
I make this a lot when I'm low on groceries, since I usually have all the ingredients on hand. I leave out the olives because I don't like them. I usually use canned diced tomatoes, and I have quite often added zuchinni to the mix! Very, very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sola

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2004
Not bad at all, I used "normal" olives, and didn't add salt. We ate it in pita bread with hummus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XVELVETX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paris, Île-De-France, France
Living In: Ames, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2004
Iys good but if you eat it too mutch you get tired of it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2004
Great flavour and texture although it looks a bit odd. Next time I make this I will have to cut the recipe in half as it is a lot of food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2004
This was really a fun and easy recipe! I was pleasantly surprised that it wasn't oily~but had almost a creamy texture from the potatoes and tomatoes. My overly picky daughter didn't like it but everyone else in my family liked it...we sprinkled about a tablespoon of feta cheese on the top of it which brightened it up and gave it some zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PIETOGO
Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2004
This stew was wonderful! It was even better the next day - totally yummy! I didn't have any kalamata olives, so I used "normal" black olives instead. Turned out great. I'm sure, though, that kalamata olives give this dish a special flavor, so I'm going to use them next time. I also used two cans of pizza tomatoes, instead of fresh ones (lazy me... ;)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2004
I was skeptical, but this is a fantastic stew. It has a hearty and unique flavor that is often lacking in vegetarian recipes. You have to try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Roast Potatoes

Quick, flavorful roasted red potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States