Greek Potato Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2005
I really love Greek food, but did not care for this combination. I will not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: San Gabriel, California, USA
Living In: Hemet, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2005
This dish has terrific flavors and is easy to make. I used a small can of stewed tomatoes and sprinkled feta cheese on before serving. Dee-lish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NICKGEL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2005
Although it's nothing too special, my family really liked this recipe. However, I'm unsure how it would turn out if following exactly as written. To make it less thick, I used 1 can of organic Italian diced tomatoes AND 1 can of organic stewed tomatoes instead of fresh. Also used fresh oregano, double the garlic,a touch of onion, and a dash of crushed red pepper. Sprinkle with feta and serve with a greek salad...yum! Although it took about 20-25 minutes longer to simmer. And using a potato masher on it before serving gives it a better texture in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2004
I make this a lot when I'm low on groceries, since I usually have all the ingredients on hand. I leave out the olives because I don't like them. I usually use canned diced tomatoes, and I have quite often added zuchinni to the mix! Very, very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sola

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2004
Not bad at all, I used "normal" olives, and didn't add salt. We ate it in pita bread with hummus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XVELVETX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paris, Île-De-France, France
Living In: Ames, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2004
Iys good but if you eat it too mutch you get tired of it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2004
Great flavour and texture although it looks a bit odd. Next time I make this I will have to cut the recipe in half as it is a lot of food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2004
This was really a fun and easy recipe! I was pleasantly surprised that it wasn't oily~but had almost a creamy texture from the potatoes and tomatoes. My overly picky daughter didn't like it but everyone else in my family liked it...we sprinkled about a tablespoon of feta cheese on the top of it which brightened it up and gave it some zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PIETOGO
Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2004
This stew was wonderful! It was even better the next day - totally yummy! I didn't have any kalamata olives, so I used "normal" black olives instead. Turned out great. I'm sure, though, that kalamata olives give this dish a special flavor, so I'm going to use them next time. I also used two cans of pizza tomatoes, instead of fresh ones (lazy me... ;)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2004
I was skeptical, but this is a fantastic stew. It has a hearty and unique flavor that is often lacking in vegetarian recipes. You have to try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Greek Lemon Chicken and Potatoes

This simple and inexpensive recipe is a proven crowd-pleaser.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States