Greek Potato Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2006
Very good, excellent flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Corinne
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2006
This was very good! I had to add a lot of salt and pepper at the end, as per my preference, but I was really pleased with the way it turned out. It tasted a lot like tomatoes, with the salty hit of an olive every once and a while. As a note for future chefs... don't forget to buy your olives without the pits. I think I spent fifteen minutes de-pitting my kalamatas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pennington, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
Very good. My version was a bit bland, but I think that was because of: I may have used too many potatoes (I don't have a scale), so the ratio may have been a bit off; and I didn't use kalamata olives (therefore the salt content was greatly reduced). I used 3/4 c. of regular black olives and 3/4 c. of garbonzo beans. And 2 small cans of diced tomatoes. Given my alterations, I'd probably cut back on the potatoes, add a little salt and a little extra oregano. PLUS, I only used 1/4 c. of olive oil. I used a non-stick pan and had no problem at all. I will make this again to fine tune it. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
Fantastic! I can't believe the complexity of flavors in such a simple dish. Warning to those who don't know what kalamatas are - these are not like black olives from a can. They are extremely pungent, so if you don't like intense flavors, you may not like this dish. This is not a failure of the recipe, but your own preference, and you shouldn't rate the recipe down for it. I'm thrilled at having an exciting new potato recipe in my collection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BASTET

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
Pretty good but kinda thick. I used one can of stewed diced tomatoes and next time I'll use two, and add some onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2005
This recipe is a staple at our house. My husband doesn't care for kalamata olives, but my daughter and I both LOVE this dish. I make it often when my husband is working late. I use canned diced tomatoes with no added salt (there is plenty in the olives) instead of the fresh chopped tomatoes. It is very easy to make and is a great comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2005
This recipe was easy to make. I subsituted the chopped tomatoes for the canned diced tomatoes and it turned out great!!! It was delicious. A definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2005
great recipe - at first i wasnt so sure because it looked so unappetizing but my sister loved it and she is THE hardest person to cook for. i added onions and sauteed them for about 15 min in the olive oil (while i was cutting up the potatoes) i added an extra clove of garlic (although it was pureed, not minced) and i mashed up most of the potatoes. my sister and brother-in-law fought over who got to take the rest for lunch tomorrow!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOKAAUGUNUM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Exton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2005
I make this dish exactly as directed and love it. The consistency is perfect, just like thick stew should be. This dish really has great flavour. This is one of my comfort foods, served nice and hot with some crusty bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2005
Very tasty... the flavor comes from the kalamata olives, so don't forget them. When it came time to eat it, the olives themselves were a little strong flavored, but the potato base to this stew was excellent. This is a great side-dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Oven-Roasted Potatoes

See how to make easy oven-roasted potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States