Greek Potato Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
This is pretty tasty. I used a can of diced tomatoes and microwaved the potatoes beforehand. For those who think the kalamata olives are too salty, rinse them before you add them - most of the salt content is in the juice they are bottled in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sixkyej

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Escondido, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2008
My parents and I really love this stew. My mother lived in Greece before she had me so anything I make at home that reminds her of those days, she instantly loves. I found that I cooked the stew a bit too long because the potatoes fell a part a bit and it sort of turned into a chowder almost, but it was still good. Next time, I will be sure to watch it closer and I am sure it will be perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
The best and easiest potato dish! I used fresh oregano. Just grab a bunch and throw in there. I added more garlic and pureed with olive oil. I also pureed 1/3 of a can of tomatoes and added another 1/3 can of it. Just a pinch of salt and that's it. Very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
This hit the spot. I love Greek food and after recently becoming a vegetarian I was unsure of what EASY (moussaka and spanakopita need a bit more time commitment) mains I could prepare that do not involve meat. I only added in 1/4 cup of oil, I upped the tomatoes to two fresh cups,I chopped half a cup of olives and used half a cup whole olives, after adding in the initial oregano I sprinkled more on top, I added 4 cloves of garlic and squeezed about 1/2 a lemon in it. I let this simmer for an hour however, this was not done in 30 mins. The extra time made the sauce very nice and thick. Note I kept on adding in water and letting it cookout because my potatoes kept on sticking on the bottom, probably because I didn't put the 1/3 cup of oil in! The end product was excellent though, the water did make it more saucy /"stewy". I served it with greek salad, lemon pilaf and "yia yia's tzatziki sauce".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
I really liked this a lot and would have rated it a 5 star except that my husband did not go crazy of it like I did. It was so simple and so tasty. You really need to make sure you use the right olives because that is where all of the flavor comes from.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
This was very good. Although if you start with raw potatoes it takes ALOT longer than 30mins. But I think that the raw potatoes obsorb alot of flavor because it does take long. I also had to use a whole 28oz can of tomatoes as the potatoes started to dry out and stick. Also doubled the garlic and added Feta cheese as suggested. Big plus! Kalamata olives a MUST, don't even bother with regular black olives as the flavor is not the same. After all that did'nt need to add any salt as we usually don't anyways to our food. Give it a shot but might need to play with it a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2006
This was far tastier than the simple ingredients would indicate. I only had sliced kalamatas, so used about 1 1/4 c.of those and a 28 oz can of herbs and spices diced tomatoes. I also reduced the oil to 1/4 c. My husband rated this a 9 out of 10, which is extra great considering how easy this recipe is! I served it with hummus, pita and a green salad with feta, red pepper and pine nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2006
We loved this! So much flavor. Definitely use kalamata olives instead of regular black olives. We used a 14.5 oz can of diced tomatoes instead of the fresh ones. Easy to make and delicious. Oh, and don't forget the feta...it really adds the zing to the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trooworld

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithville, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunFlower
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2006
An healthy side dish that tastes similar to what I've had in Greece. Next time I'll make it into a main by adding olives (I didn't use kalamata because I can't find them unpitted) and crumbled feta. Onions are a great addition too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunFlower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charleroi, Hainaut, Belgium
Living In: Jette, Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2006
This isn't something I make often, but when I get a craving it's perfect. I leave out the olive oil, but I have to becareful that it doesn't stick to the bottom. I add some crumbled feta cheese when it cools and it's great. Nobody else in my house likes it, but they don't like Greek food in general.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Oven-Roasted Potatoes

See how to make easy oven-roasted potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States