Greek Potato Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 16, 2010
My mum's been making this for years and now that I've moved out I make it for my boyfriend and I. Always goes down a treat even though neither of us likes kalamata olives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
LOVE this! Only thing I changed was to use a can of diced tomatoes, juice and all, hoping for more to dip bread in. Even with the extra liquid, there really wasn't that much to sop up. But what was there was yummy!!! Definitely need kalamata olives and not just whatever you normally have on hand. This is my new favorite way to make potatoes, and I plan to make it again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
This was delicious as a lunch with some feta cheese sprinkled on the top and some bread on the side. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
This was fantastic! I made it as described with maybe a little less olive oil and the result was a very satisfying and flavorful vegetarian dish. Garden fresh tomatoes, potatoes and oregano were a plus but I think this will be a cold weather staple at our house with canned tomatoes and dried oregano.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
Delicious! A simple recipe with a nice Greek flavor. I highly recommend this as a side dish w/ Chicken Dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessika393

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
This is an amazing recipe! I made it over a week ago and just forgot to rate... but it's everything a good recipe should be-- simple, tasty, and quick to prepare. I added a touch of anchovy paste as this was cooking, but I am really not sure that it needed it, just had some that needed to be used. Hit it with a little feta crumbles before serving alongside sauteed lemon chicken and it was wonderful. Leftovers were just as good, if not better after letting sit. My husband practically licked the plate clean, and has requested this be a regular. Make sure you use good kalamatas, as they are the predominant flavor in this. Only had canned tomatoes in the house, but still fantastic, just drained one can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
This was excellent. I made this for both of my parents and the loved it. I followed this recipe exactly except I substituted the fresh tomatoes for canned San Maranzo tomatoes. I also simmered it low for just over an hour. The extra juice from the tomatoes turned into a thick sauce. One of the best potato recipes ever and I will most certainly make this one again! thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkypink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
We made this to go with some Hawaiian chicken and grilled corn on the cob and this is by far the tastiest potato dish we've ever had. We didn't even need to add any salt or pepper to it - perfect just the way the recipe states!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasadena, Texas, USA
Living In: Tyler, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
Just okay I think. Next time I will add more olives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Justine

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
very good and easy - used canned chopped tomatos and still came out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Roast Potatoes

Quick, flavorful roasted red potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States