Greek Potato Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 23, 2013
We loved this. It's very similiar to the potatoes you get at a Greek Restaurant and this is what I was looking for. I made it exactly as written but at the end added the juice of one lemon just to give it a bit of zing. Excellent, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
A divine accompaniment to a lean chicken dish, or great on a bed of warm quinoa/rice. Fingerlings were available (which made prep a breeze), along with fresh oregano. I agree with most other reviewers that the broth is great for dipping. Hence, add a loaf of rustic bread or grab a loaf of French bread at the check-out line. (Just so you can dunk your bread in all the juices). Once plated, I did serve with a bowl of fresh sliced lemons. A little hint of citrus was a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SOYGIRL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
We really liked this a lot. The little salty bites of olives with the potatoes. So easy and so few ingredients. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2012
I have been making this authentic Greek recipe for 10 years. It is really great - my whole family loves it and we have made it for our extended families as well. It is always a favorite. I use one 15 1/2 ounce can of tomatoes and a sprig of rosemary instead of oregano. It seems to take closer to 40 minutes for our potatoes to cooks so plan ahead. You can certainly make it with less olive oil, but it won't be nearly as delicious or authentic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
This is a first for me but I did not like this and I was bummed because I love all the ingredients. I really like bold flavors and I felt like this recipe was bland. I needed to have an olive in each bite to have any flavor. Also the sauce was... Well there was none. I even added water and by the end it was just mush. Its too bad cause I was hoping to like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sasha*Italiano

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
So sadly, I didn't have any kalamata olives on hand. So in order to replace the "tang" I added lemon juice instead. Not the same I know, but WOW! This was fantastic! My potatoes had to simmer longer than 30 minutes, more like 45 minutes, because I threw them in raw. I also added some condensed chicken stock for extra flavor. Otherwise, fantastic recipe! I can't wait to make it next time with the olives!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
This was a great recipe - it would still be great with a little less olive oil, it was a little on the heavy side there - but the flavor is outstanding. Will make it again, definitely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gabs

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
these potatoes we absolutely excellent. Just like you would get at a Greek restaurant. My whole family loved them and I will make them again and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DTRUBELA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
I LOVE this recipe. I found it on this site a few years ago and it is a favorite at my house. My husband and son don't like kalamata olives, so they just eat around them. BUT, the flavor of the olives is what makes this dish stand out, so don't leave out the olives if you have someone who doesn't like them. I'm guessing they will still love the flavor of this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
Simple and delicious. I doubled the amount of garlic. Next time I will add a bit more tomatoes and olives. This recipe makes a lot, so I will also cut it in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Josephine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Queens, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Oven-Roasted Potatoes

See how to make easy oven-roasted potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States