Greek Penne and Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
I liked this recipe but thought it was a little bland. I followed a mixture of the original recipe and some of the suggestions by other reviewers as well as adding a few things of my own. I do not like artichokes so I did not use them. I only used 8 oz. of pasta which was plenty. I used the juice of half a lemon which I think may have been a tad to much. Doubled the garlic and cubed 2 big chicken breasts. Used I cup of chicken broth, 1 13 oz can of diced tomatoes in sauce and a couple of splashes of heavy cream which really made the sauce creamy. I also cut up and slightly steamed a bunch of asparagus and added to the dish towards the end. I added a little bit pepper flakes in addition to some extra oregano and basil. It was good but feel it needed a boost of flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
I make this all the time. Everyone loves it! I do add 1/2 a cup of heavy whipping cream towards the end because it can be dry. It gives it a wonderful creamy texture and keeps it moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luna13
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
This was so good. I only used half of the pasta though. This recipe will be made regularly at my home! And I used non-gmo. gluten free brown rice pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aurora Campos

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
This recipe was delicious with some of the modifications that were suggested by other reviewers. I used canned tomatoes instead of fresh and added 1/2 cup of half and half to the mixture before adding the penne. It was super easy to make and will become a regular staple in our dinner menus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
Absolutely loved this recipe! To avoid dryness I used two whole lemons and a lot of red wine vinegar. It made it taste fantastic! My mom even asked me for the recipe afterwards!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
I loved this recipe because it gave me another reason to use artichoke hearts & the flavors were such a beautiful medly. I tweeked it a lil, i wanted more sauce & a little more color so i added more parsley & tomato, another 2 tbsp of butter & maybe 1/2 cup of the pasta water i left as a reserve just in case. I love artichoke hearts & had an extra jar so added that too (drained of course) & a little more lemon juice. The flavors were addictive!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
This recipe was pretty whatever. After we realized that, we turned it into California Chicken Spaghetti (also on this site), which is kind of an advanced version of this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by britstoke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
Loved this!! So did most of the family, except the artichokes. It was our first time trying them. Will omit them next time or chop them up much smaller.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
I like it. It was nice and light, not saucy or cheesy like a lot if the other pastas I make. Kid loved it the most ate it fast and asked for a second plate instead of dessert! I made it as is, but I agree it was lacking just needed to a be a little more wet I think. Next time I will probably use 3-4 very ripe tomatoes, and use olive oil instead of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
Very good, but I took everyone's suggestions. I used diced tomatoes, marinated artichoke and most of the marinade, doubled the garlic, used a whole onion (oops), and accidentally added some red pepper when I grabbed the wrong bottle (it was still great) and added cream. The sauce tasted great was a bit thin, probably because I didn't have real cream and used half and half. But it still tasted great so I'm keeping it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rowley, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 486) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Penne and Chicken

See how to make Greek chicken with feta cheese and artichokes.

Greek Chicken Pasta

See how to make Greek-style pasta with chicken and artichokes.

Greek Chicken Kozani

See how to make a savory Greek-inspired chicken dish with prunes and paprika.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States