Greek Orzo Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2006
Instead of using the artichoke marinade. Use 6 tbsp olive oil, 5 tbsp red wine vinegar, 1 tablespoon lemon juice and 2 teaspoon dried oregano
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
374 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dining Diva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Agawam, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: East Granby, Connecticut, USA
Photo by CARRIANNE22
Reviewed: May 20, 2005
I gave this 5 stars...after I made some changes. I added about 1/2 c. of a good italian dressing and about 1/4 c. of red wine vinegar to spice it up a little. Now it is AMAZING. Everyone loved it!! I made the orzo and mixed it with the dressing, vinegar, lemon and spices the day before and then added the veggies the morning of. Very good and very pretty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
144 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cary, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2007
This is a great summer salad, absolutely delicious! My husband commented about how quickly I scarfed it down. I made some changes: basil instead of oregano, black pepper instead of lemon pepper, an extra tablespoon of lemon juice, an extra large tomato, only half an onion, and some balsamic vinegar to taste. Next time I make it I'll probably keep those changes except that I'll use even less onion and even more tomato. I think this recipe would be great without changes, too. It claims to make 6 servings, but those servings must be awfully big, because this makes a lot. I think I'd call it 8-10 servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
120 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2002
I made this recipe with some changes. I added garbanzo beans and green onions and chopped up the artichokes. Also, instead of using the drained marinade, I added some KRAFT Greek Vinaigrette Dressing that was in the fridge. This turned out really good! I wasn't sure if my son liked artichokes or not, that's why I cut them up. My boyfriend and I love them so I couldn't omit them...the boy would have to suffer! Turns out, everyone loved the salad...and, the kid likes artichokes! My son's girlfriend was over the day after and had some and she loved it, too. I also used gemelli pasta instead of the orzo...it was awesome!! Thanks! Erin
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DOLFANCHICK1027

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tarpon Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2007
This is my #2 all time fave from this site, second only to the Brown Sugar Meatloaf. As are many others, I am guilty to modifications based on what I have in the house, as well as taste preferences. I am into easy prep and finding shortcuts, so I used an English cucumber and didn't remove the seeds, and the tomatos were those cute baby grape tomatoes, cut in half (used approx 20); no seed removal there also. Thanks to the advice of other reviewers here, I purchased bottled Greek dressing, and tossed in 1/2 cup. On the first try I only used 1/4 red onion, but I will upgrade that next time to 1/2. I would also double the lemon pepper, and add more salt (I use sea salt) and a liberal dose of freshly ground black pepper. Definitely more lemon... I will juice a full lemon next time...lemon is a leading flavor in authentic Greek cuisine, and 1 T is WAY too short. Also tossed in some sliced Greek pepperoncini (found in the condiment aisle near the olives), approx 1/4 cup. This is FABULOUS, and gets even better overnight. It is also very pretty and colorful when served in a glass bowl. Again, a keeper. Husband, kids, and picky grandkids ALL loved it. Thanks to the original submitter of this recipe. LoveLoveLove this!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
I made it exactly as the recipe said, except maybe just a little bit less red onion. I didn't do as the other responders did and add balsamic vinegar or anything. I wanted to try it as posted first. I don't think I'll ever change it. This is a very fresh, light, yummy and beautiful salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
Amazing. I took it to a party and the entire bowl was gone in 5 minutes. It was best on Day 3, so it is a really great dish if you want to make something ahead of time. Next time, I will use the whole package of orzo with the same quantities of the other ingredients to make a bigger batch. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2006
I LOVE this salad!!! I am guilty of making a bit of changes though, based on my tastes. I omitted the cherry tomatoes and the red onion, and instead used 6 sundried tomatoes. I placed the sundried tomatoes and the black olives and the artichokes in the cuisinart and chopped all of it, then mixed it with the pasta. Instead of the marinade, I used Greek dressing like other reviewers. I also used dried parsley flakes (2 tbsp). This is an amazing salad. I'm going to have more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2004
Excellent! I used seedless English cucumbers and halved cherry tomatoes to cut down on prep. I also used Kraft Greek Vinagrette Dressing instead of the artichoke marinade and block feta as previously suggested. In the future, I'd even add grilled chicken to make it a meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
Yummy yummy! The BF and I gobbled it up! I am giving it 4 stars b/c I changed some of it. I used reduced fat feta, cut back the orzo and increased the veggies to make it a little healthier. Used the non-marinated artichokes and subbed 1/2c balsamic vinegrette dressing. Also subbed kalamata olives for true Greek flavor. Didn't used the parsley b/c I didn't have any. Will definately use it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea Dunckel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oakhurst, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 302) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Greek Salad I

Summer vegetables dressed in a tangy, refreshing vinaigrette.

Greek Garbanzo Bean Salad

A quick-and-easy Greek salad with garbanzo beans and a zesty dressing.

Orzo and Shrimp Salad with Asparagus

This easy salad is bright with flavor and can be a side or entrée.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States