Greek Orzo Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
VERY tasty! I think I added a little more dressing that what the recipe called for, but it was super delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
With a few alterations, turned it to BAM! Use the juice of capers instead of vinegar, and sautee grape tomato in olive oil with a touch of garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
Just okay as written - the dressing needs some work. I ended up mixing up a different greek dressing recipe and added that instead. For a basic dressing, try equal parts olive oil and red wine vinegar, then add salt, pepper, oregano, garlic powder, mustard powder, and lemon juice to taste. With that addition it made for a tasty lunch. I might try adding a can of tuna to the leftovers for some variety the next time I eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUMAHA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fridley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
This was a great recipe. I too made a few adjustments. Like one of the other reviews I replaced the artichokes (marinate and hearts) with 6 tbsp olive oil, 4 tbsp red wine vinegar, 1 tablespoon lemon juice and 2 teaspoon dried oregano. I used pepper instead of lemon pepper and Kalamata olives instead of black olives. I mixed the orzo with the marinate I made and let it sit overnight then added the other ingredients the next morning and let it refrigerate an hour longer. I added the tomatoes and feta right before I served it so it didn't over power the dish or make it soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Mirada, California, USA
Living In: Stanford, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
What a delicious side dish/salad! Was looking for something to go with our 4th of July menu. I made the Marinated Greek Chicken Kabobs (from this site) and this salad was the perfect accompaniment. I served it warm instead of cold. Next time I might add more lemon juice for even more tang but it's great as-is. The marinade from the artichoke hearts gave great flavor, too. Thanks for sharing your recipe, Patrice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Princess Tanya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
Great summer recipe! I used sliced olives and will use halved grape or cherry tomatoes next time. The artichoke juice is definitely necessary to keep the salad moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
I made this to take to a cookout today and followed the advice from a reviewer about using greek dressing instead of the artichoke marinade. It looks beautiful and the sample I had was delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
I think I made this almost exactly as the recipe stated, except I did take one reviewer's advice and bought the cucumbers that don't need to be seeded. I also forgot to buy fresh parsley so I used dried. I took another reviewer's advice and made this the night before. I knew that pretty much no one else in my family would eat this, but I was dying to try it...so I made a full batch two nights ago, and took it to work with me for lunch the rest of this week. They were right, the longer it sits, the better it tastes, and if you are going to store it or make it ahead, definitely save the marinade til right before you eat it...I had two bowls of leftovers and in one, I poured half the marinade. By morning, it was gone, soaked up by the pasta I guess. Adding it right before serving keeps it moist and also keeps the pasta from clumping, plus the artichoke marinade was nice and light, and had a really great, mild flavor. If you're serving/eating this like a meal (it makes a GREAT light lunch, and is VERY balanced) then the six servings is about right, but if you're using it for a side, I'd say 10-12 servings is more like it. Loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy Pierce

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
Was enjoyed by the group I made it for. I skipped adding the left over artichoke marinade and added red wine vinegar instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
I have made this salad several times and each time my guests ask for the recipe. I just use a little more vinegar or lemon juice, but it is very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 307) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Salad I

Summer vegetables dressed in a tangy, refreshing vinaigrette.

Greek Garbanzo Bean Salad

A quick-and-easy Greek salad with garbanzo beans and a zesty dressing.

Orzo and Shrimp Salad with Asparagus

This easy salad is bright with flavor and can be a side or entrée.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States