Greek Orzo Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
What a delicious side dish/salad! Was looking for something to go with our 4th of July menu. I made the Marinated Greek Chicken Kabobs (from this site) and this salad was the perfect accompaniment. I served it warm instead of cold. Next time I might add more lemon juice for even more tang but it's great as-is. The marinade from the artichoke hearts gave great flavor, too. Thanks for sharing your recipe, Patrice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Princess Tanya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
Great summer recipe! I used sliced olives and will use halved grape or cherry tomatoes next time. The artichoke juice is definitely necessary to keep the salad moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
I made this to take to a cookout today and followed the advice from a reviewer about using greek dressing instead of the artichoke marinade. It looks beautiful and the sample I had was delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
I think I made this almost exactly as the recipe stated, except I did take one reviewer's advice and bought the cucumbers that don't need to be seeded. I also forgot to buy fresh parsley so I used dried. I took another reviewer's advice and made this the night before. I knew that pretty much no one else in my family would eat this, but I was dying to try it...so I made a full batch two nights ago, and took it to work with me for lunch the rest of this week. They were right, the longer it sits, the better it tastes, and if you are going to store it or make it ahead, definitely save the marinade til right before you eat it...I had two bowls of leftovers and in one, I poured half the marinade. By morning, it was gone, soaked up by the pasta I guess. Adding it right before serving keeps it moist and also keeps the pasta from clumping, plus the artichoke marinade was nice and light, and had a really great, mild flavor. If you're serving/eating this like a meal (it makes a GREAT light lunch, and is VERY balanced) then the six servings is about right, but if you're using it for a side, I'd say 10-12 servings is more like it. Loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
Was enjoyed by the group I made it for. I skipped adding the left over artichoke marinade and added red wine vinegar instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
I have made this salad several times and each time my guests ask for the recipe. I just use a little more vinegar or lemon juice, but it is very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
Fantastic! I used less onion, more feta cheese (tomato basil flavored as well), more tomato and excluded the parsley and the artichoke marinade for the dressing. Instead I used the recipe for "Absolutely Fabulous Greek/House Dressing" on this site and it made the salad AMAZING! Obviously this recipe makes a lot, so I trimmed it down so that it equalled a cup of dressing and poured it over the whole salad. You will not be disappointed! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
Very good! Made it for the first time last night, and my boyfriend loved it! Our only suggestion was use a small red onion, or half of a medium or large one, as the onion was a tiny overwhelming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
I was very happy with this! It was extremely easy being that I now keep gallon zip-lock bags of orzo gently tossed with olive oil in the freezer (thanks Belle!). I used kalamata olives and as many suggested and I did use a greek dressing instead of the artichoke marinade. I thought the lemon pepper added a nice touch. Thank you! This will be in my salad rotation this summer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mickdee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
This salad is really good. I modified it quite a bit, based on the ingredients I had, but it turned out great. I used cucumber, sun-dried tomatoes in oil, grated cheddar, red onion and black olives. Since I didn't have artichokes, I used 1/2 cup of Farm Boy Greek Dressing and added salt and pepper. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 31-40 (of 293) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Garbanzo Bean Salad

A quick-and-easy Greek salad with garbanzo beans and a zesty dressing.

Orzo and Shrimp Salad with Asparagus

This easy salad is bright with flavor and can be a side or entrée.

Greek Pasta Salad I

This salad is bursting with bright colors and fresh, authentic flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States