Greek Lentil Soup (Fakes) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2007
ABSOLUTELY WONDERFUL!!!! Even my meat and potatoes hubby enjoyed this one! Will definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Irene Zoidis Wright

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2007
This is a very lightly flavored soup; although this bothered me at first, I appreciated this (more authentic?) lighter Mediterranean flavor. Great w/ a side of toasted crusty bread and dipping oil!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2007
I thought this soup was excellent, vinegar and all. We served it with pumpernickel bread and made that our entire meal. My 10-year-old son preferred it without the vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2007
I just recently went vegetarian for health and weight loss. This is one of the first recipes I tried. Wonderful! I used broth instead of water. Out of habit I accidentally used chicken broth, however next time i will use veggie broth. I also added an extra carrot and a finaly chopped zucchini for extra veggies. In addition, I didn't have brown lentils on hand - i had red, black and pearl barley. So i did 2 oz red lentils, 2 oz barley and 4 oz red lentils. It was superb. I def recommend to everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SMDAILEY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
I am sure this recipe is quite good--I deviated from it quite a bit, though, and added instead of a quart of water, two cups of water and a cube of bouillon and a large can of organic crushed tomatoes with basil. I also included cubed potatoes with the carrots. It turned out a delicious thick lentil stewy soup, vegetarian and wonderful, even leftover. A splash of balsamic vinegar and a few crumbles of feta cheese on top was the lovely finishing touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
THIS WAS SO GOOD AND EASY! I added an extra can of tomato paste but aside from that I stuck to the recipe. It came out more like a stoup but it's delicious and only gets better as it sits. (I also added extra carrots)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2007
This soup has a great taste and is easy to prepare. I think I might try lemon juice instead of the vinegar next time but I did like the vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2007
We routinely have lentil stew, but had lost my recipe. This was as close as I could find. Lentils are great for protein, and lots of veggies is good. Sometimes for the veggies I will just buy a bag of frozen vegetables (like a stir-fry mix). Super easy,and the red peppers add alot of 'zing' to the mix. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2007
I made exactly as instructed and it was awesome. We all had fun saying the work "Fakes," too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Greenhills, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2007
I found this flavorless as written. It benefited from a teaspoon of cumin and a 1/4 teaspoon of cayenne. I served it with balsamic vinegar and feta as per another reviewers suggestion. The bites with the balsamic and feta were tasty, but overall not worth making again. This is the only dinner I've ever made that my family wouldn't finish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 257) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States