Greek Lentil Soup (Fakes) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
This is an outstanding lentil soup, and even acceptable to my vegan friends. It has lots of flavor and is a very healthy and hearty dish. Thank you for sharing this with us, Diana.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
Good, easy, inexpensive soup! Definitely drizzle some balsamic vinegar on it to up the flavor. I think next time, I'll add more carrots and peas as well, otherwise it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
SO DELICIOUS. Even my mom raved (NO small feat!) I had made fakes before, but it was never this good. I think it was the tomato paste that made it taste more authentic and took it to a new level. A couple small tweaks: Doubled the recipe. I added an extra 2C of water because it got ridiculously thick. A little squeeze of fresh lemon juice for brightness. Anytime I sauté onion or garlic, I ALWAYS deglaze tha pan with a little white wine to get that nice toasted flavor off the pan. Also, I waited to add the carrots until it was almost time to deglaze so they wouldn't turn to mush. I used fresh garden herbs instead of dried: lots of oregano, a little sprig of rosemary and a tiny bit of thyme. Dash of paprika. Simmered on very low for 3 hours beyond recommended time. Again, so fabulous! Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goapril

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palatine, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
This soup was delicious. I made a double batch and followed the recipe to the letter. I will agree that the red wine vinegar really gives it some zip. Add it, you will not be sorry! I let the soup sit for about 90 minutes before I ate it. I think this helped the flavors meld together. Next time I might add chicken or beef broth instead of water. Maybe even some pancetta to keep the meat eaters happy i.e. the bf. Also, I got some already cooked brown lentil's from the store which was nice as I was able to skip step 1. I looked forward to serving this with a nice salad and bread for a hearty and healthy well rounded meal. I highly recommend this soup!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Virginia_Ham

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Half Moon Bay, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
I'm one that tends to be uninterested in a recipe if it doesn't have a lot of different flavors listed, but decided to try this one on a lazy night and I am SO glad I did! Although the flavors are simple, they're in a perfect balance. I tried it without the vinegar and it was good, but later decided to take the advice of other reviewers and it was a wise decision. I only made a slight change- first, I made a double batch, so I doubled the ingredients. Also, we didn't have any minced garlic, so I used powder, and I made it with one quart water, one quart beef broth. After pulling it off the eye and letting it sit for a minute I added about 1/2 cup vinegar and let it sit for a few more minutes. The leftovers are fantastic and the flavors have really come together, letting the soup sit overnight. This will be in our rotation from now on, so thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aries84

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Excellent! I followed the recipe to the T and found it bland...then I added the oil and balsamic AND WOW! This is key to the success of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Very easy to make, also reheats well! Definitely add the balsamic vinegar to enhance this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stella

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Yep, that is the authentic Greek recipe and a typical Friday meal in Greece. Very healthy indeed...May I add, other that the vinegar, accompany this with feta cheese and some sourdough bread. My family also very often had (dried) sardines on the table (for extra protein). These flavors all go great together with fakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Athens, Attica, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
I am Greek as well and I had a similar recipe, but the carrots were a nice addition. I enjoyed this version very much. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hdemore

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
First rate. I boil this down a bit and eat it as stew instead of soup. It's perfect the way it is. Healthy, satisfying, easy and cheap. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Easton, Maryland, USA
Living In: Brunswick, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 251) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Lentil Soup

See how to put a Hungarian twist on comforting lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States