Greek Lentil Soup (Fakes) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Wow! So delicious! I used regular white vinegar and it was amazing. I could eat this every week-the only thing I might change next time is to add even more carrots because they were so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
This is a great mediterranean recipe. I do not understand how some reviewers gave it 1 star. I made it multiple times and each time, I barely have leftovers. We all love it. I skip the initial phase of cooking the lentils for 10 min and it works. I use a mix of olive oil and apple cider vinegar for the end drizzle. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
Bravo Diana! I am of Greek descent and was craving my yiayia's lentil soup. She is long gone and I never did get her recipe. This was delicious and hearty. I used chicken stock instead of water and added a can of condensed Campbell's tomato soup. I had never heard of using red wine vinegar as a garnish and found it so odd that I re-read it a couple of times. It really makes a huge difference and will now be a staple on our table when I serve this dish. Efharisto!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moonchild

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: King City, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
Made it last night, was a big hit thanks Diana. Stuck to your recipe and it turned out great. Next time I wanna try adding some lemon before serving. Also curious about trying it with vinegar, sounds delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
Absolutely wonderful recipe! One thing I found different was precooking the lentils slightly -- at first I thought this was a rather redundant step, but was really happy with the results. It seemed to really preserve the texture of the lentils in the soup. I ended up pureeing about 1/2 of the soup for a richer consistency and added white wine vinegar at the end. Whole family loved -- even the picky ones! Thanks for submitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
not liking the lentils all that much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
This is a wonderfully simple soup. Instead of tomato paste, I used a can of crushed tomatoes, and fresh herbs from my garden. Sauteed the veggies in the oil to bring out the sugars before I poured in the lentils, tomato, and chicken stock instead of water. Delicious! I'm not Greek, but I wish I were!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATEZ21

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Carbondale, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
Wonderful, delicious and mouth watering good!! Loved it ... the only thing was that I did not know how much red wine vinegar to add as it is not in the ingredients? I added about 3 TBSP. to the whole recipe and it was great! Thanx Ms. Moutsopoulos for sharing this simple but very nutritious and filling soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Summerpls

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lachute, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
This is the perfect easy dish for a chilly fall evening and I'll be making it throughout the winter, too. It's so easy yet so delicious and nutritious. Serve with bread, cornbread or biscuits and it's a complete filling meal, especially for vegetarians! To those that said it was bland, make certain you sauté the onion, garlic and carrots to bring out the full flavor and boil the soup with the oregano and rosemary as directed before adding the tomato paste and simmering for the remaining minutes. To achieve the proper full-bodied flavor, follow the steps and you won't be disappointed. Also, don't forget to add the salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
This is a great soup that was easy to make. My husband accidentally poured in too much vinegar and ruined his (ha). Definitely use the vinegar sparingly -- but is really does add to the soup. Thanks for sharing this recipe. My kids ate it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 251) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Lentil Soup

See how to put a Hungarian twist on comforting lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States