Greek Lentil Soup (Fakes) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
I love fakes at good Greek restaurants. This recipe is simple but the flavors are complex. Good with or without the vinegar (I prefer, husband doesn't). I had cooked a batch of lentils earlier this week and decided to try them in this recipe. That made the soup easy and quick. I did also use boxed veg broth and did not have to add any extra salt. This is very tasty. I did also add celery and a small yellow summer squash. This is now a go to recipe for us. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
Great soup. Husband and I enjoyed the spice from the pepper and the sour from the vinegar. Added died kohlrabi and vegetable broth base. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
My husband was skeptical about lentil soup but loved this. I did add red pepper flakes and lemon juice. We used red wine vinegar and that really does make this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
Made this twice! Pretty good, I leave out the carrots and add some diced tomatoes, and chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gialovesny
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
fantastic on a cool day. The family really enjoyed this. I added leeks as I had them and needed to use them up. Not sure what they added but the whole meal was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
very simple soup. little too bland so maybe get creative and add some other spices and/or vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
I came looking for 'Greek' inspiration and found it, in the recipe and the comments. I'm a "short-cut chef" so I generally toss technique out the window and just focus on ingredients. I started with 1 C picked-over but NOT soaked black-eyed peas, 3 C water, in slow cooker for 2 1/2 hours on High; drain, rinse, return to cooker WHICH HAS NOW BEEN TURNED OFF. Add 6 thawed 'cubes' of tomato paste (large can of tomato paste previously frozen in ice cube trays that measure 2 T each) to cooker. Add approximately 1/2 t jarred roasted garlic, 1/2 t oregano, 1/2 t rosemary to cooker (I had no bay leaves). Chop 1/2 onion, sauté in a good drizzle of olive oil in cast iron skillet 'til soft and slightly caramelized. Add several big handfuls rough-chopped fresh spinach to skillet, cook and stir around 'til softened. Add onions and spinach to cooker. Peel and dice 1 large carrot, place in small Pyrex dish with 2 T water, cover with small plate, microwave on High for 3 minutes stirring once, drain, add to cooker. Stir all. Taste. Added 1 tsp apple cider vinegar (it's all I had...). LOVE!!! I'm not a 'bean soup' person so I didn't add additional water or broth; I just wanted me a tasty bowl o' beans, and now I have it. It doesn't taste like the lentils from our local Greek Orthodox church supper, but what do I know? This is REALLY GOOD! Thanks for sharing, Diana!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
This is a delicious soup, although a little too polite for my tastes. The second time I made it I upped the spices and added 1/2 tsp cumin and a pinch of red pepper flakes. I also substituted vegetable stock for the water and a can of low sod diced tomatoes (with juice) for the paste. The vinegar garnish is a must, and I found that balsamic vinegar is better--smoother and less spiky than red wine vinegar. For a fuller meal, I accompanied the soup with Roasted Swiss Chard with Feta (on this site) and some crusty bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2013
I made this exactly the way Diana had instructed and this was a super hit with my Russian wife! She absolutely adored it and now I'm out of the dog house. BTW the vinegar at the end is crucial!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2013
Being Greek, this soup was always a staple on our dinner table. I LOVE it. My dad always added a tablespoon (or more to taste) to his hot bowl of soup at the table and ate it with raw onion. I eat it like that to this day. It is hearty and delicious and goes wonderful with a rustic bread on a wintery cold day. LOVE! -Tina Vasilatos-Gdovic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 276) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States