Greek Lentil Soup (Fakes) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
This is a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
This is an amazing recipe and so very authentic. It is quite healthy and the vinegar really does add the finishing touch. From one Greek to another I can truly say that serving up this recipe gives me great pride and the multitude of comments I receive helps too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
I liked the foundation of this recipe. I added 1/8tsp chili powder, 2 tsp balsamic vinegarette, 1 tsp salt, 1 qt chicken broth, and 2 tbs lemon juice. Much more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
There is something so wholesome and satisfying to a good lentil soup. This one is DELICIOUS and I like a little drizzle of good Balsamic vinegar on it. Tangy and kind of sweet, it so complements the earthiness of the lentils. This freezes well also, for a quick dinner when you have no time to cook. Thanks Diana.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soody

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woburn, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Atkinson, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
I love fakes at good Greek restaurants. This recipe is simple but the flavors are complex. Good with or without the vinegar (I prefer, husband doesn't). I had cooked a batch of lentils earlier this week and decided to try them in this recipe. That made the soup easy and quick. I did also use boxed veg broth and did not have to add any extra salt. This is very tasty. I did also add celery and a small yellow summer squash. This is now a go to recipe for us. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
Great soup. Husband and I enjoyed the spice from the pepper and the sour from the vinegar. Added died kohlrabi and vegetable broth base. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
My husband was skeptical about lentil soup but loved this. I did add red pepper flakes and lemon juice. We used red wine vinegar and that really does make this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
Made this twice! Pretty good, I leave out the carrots and add some diced tomatoes, and chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gialovesny
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
fantastic on a cool day. The family really enjoyed this. I added leeks as I had them and needed to use them up. Not sure what they added but the whole meal was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
very simple soup. little too bland so maybe get creative and add some other spices and/or vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 251) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Lentil Soup

See how to put a Hungarian twist on comforting lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States