Greek Lentil Soup (Fakes) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by lisajoy
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2015
This was awesome and a definite keeper. Like a lot of other posts, I used broth instead of water and since I am not a big fan of rosemary I left it out and used thyme instead. Served with a Greek green salad, homemade hummus with tostitos scoops and leftover fresh fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisajoy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Renton, Washington, USA
Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2015
Really nice comfort food soup! I made it as written except in place of water I used chicken broth I had on hand from a leftover rotisserie chicken simmered down. The vinegar adds a really nice flavor. I'll likely made this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffers

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
Easy & simple recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2015
easy and good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karin Spratley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
I don't usually like to be a recipe tweaker but I just had to with this one. It was very bland. I ended up having to add a lot of salt, pepper, and cayenne. I think next time I might substitute the water with vegetable or chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Canakat

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
Who ever review the fakes soup as unhealthy they are on drugs!!!for sure same goes for fasolada revythia etc...classic Greek soups with tons of vitamins and so good for you,well this is a great recipe and I also use red wine vinegar its a MUST!great job Hellas for ever elladara!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
I think it was unpleasant because of tomato paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rbritt310

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
Don't omit the bay leaves
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
As many people have already mentioned, the red wine vinegar in this dish is crucial. For a bit more spice, I also added a 1.5 tbsp of Tapatio.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
Have just made this but adjusted for two people. The only thing missing was the Bay leaf. I was slightly let down with the lack of taste but put this down to my first attempt. Will tweak it when I try again. The Red Wine Vinegar is a must as it does lift the dish and the fibre hit is very effective. I had a small portion left so I had it the following day. It was good and shows that this dish can also be saved and set aside for a work lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 276) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States