Greek Lentil Soup (Fakes) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
I made this in the slow cooker (2 hours on high) for my family and everyone loved it. I just threw threw soaked lentils and all the ingredients in the pot and turned it on. This is the traditional Italian way of making lentil soup. The vinegar at the end is the advice that you should heed. It doesn't actually change the flavour, just enhances. I used apple cider vinegar. We'll be using this recipe again. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
I made this and it was delicious! Making it again today for fathers day but adding bacon (request from the husband):P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
Thank you!! My yiayia lived with us when I was young, and this is one of those dishes that makes me think of her. I have tried over the years to find a recipe like hers, and this is the closest I have found...it is wonderful! It is great even if you don't have memories of a greek grandma :) I do want to add for others trying this recipe, the red wine vinegar is NOT optional! It is what gives this soup its distinct flavor. I just add it to the whole pot after I am done cooking...just stir in a little bit at a time until you like the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
Excellent soup and really well received by my guests who all wanted to have the recipe. I had searched a recipe like this after having a great lentil soup at a Greek restaurant and this fit the bill perfectly. I used a hand blender to puree some of the lentils at the end and make a thicker soup. Also used the balsamic vinegar as suggested by some reviewers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EasyBreezy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Like this with balsamic, but think that the smell of two bay leaves is just overpowering. Next time will add only one leave. 1 liter (quart) of water is definitely not enough. I used 1qt of chicken stock and a few splashes of water. Love lentils!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valeria

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
I didn't have tomato paste so I used ketchup instead. I used more than the recipe suggested. I also added in 1/2 cup of barley during the last 30mins. It turned out tasty, though I'm not used to the taste of vinegar in soup. I would probably make some adjustment next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
This was very good. I decided it might need more flavor, so instead of all water I used 1/2 veggie broth and was liberal with the seasoning measures. It was delicious. Both my kids enjoyed it and said we need to make it again...that is high praise.:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
Hi I tried your recipe and its very good, my mom is greek, and she and my yiayia made it without carrots (don't know why)...i am not used to it being sweeter with carrots. Also instead of vinegar, mom used white, dry vermouth...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
very good! used chicken broth, didn't have tomato paste so used tomato sauce, added more garlic and added some spinach. very good with the vinegar at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
The only change I made to the recipe was to use more carrots- I used 4, and I accidently put in 2 tbsp of tomato paste which I don't think hurt the recipe at all. My husband, 3 year old and 2 year old loved this soup. I really liked it too but I thought it was way too oily and I didn't even drizzle the olive oil on top after cooking. I'll definitely make this again but next time I'll use half of the olive oil and maybe throw in a few more carrots and it'll be perfect! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 247) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Lentil Soup

See how to put a Hungarian twist on comforting lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States