Greek Lentil Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2006
This salad was alright. I think next time, I would put more of the vegetables, and less of the lentils, as they don't have much taste. And maybe use a mix of grains, instead of just the lentils.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
Great recipe. Variations are easy. Very inspiring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
I am so addicted to this stuff! I didn't use onion, added some bell pepper, and used olive oil, vinegar, salt and pepper instead of Greek dressing. Also have used fresh dill, green onion...this is a really versatile recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
This is wonderful. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
Wonderful salad! I made this while we were on vacation and ate it at almost every meal. I love lentils, but had not found a "wow" recipe in which to use them until this one. I've made it several times since and will say that the choice of dressing really makes a difference. I'd recommend Ken's Healthy Options Olive Oil and Vinegar, or one of the other higher end dressings. I also added olives and green onions and used as a dip with pita triangles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YMATLOSZ

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
Adding lentils is a good idea to make a Greek salad more filling, but the texture of the lentils did not fit with the tomato and cucumber. If you do make this, finely chop the vegetables to make it easier to eat. Also, you can make the onions a bit tender by letting them soak in the vinaigrette for 30 minutes before adding them to the salad. Next time, I'll just stew some lentils and dill as a side to the Greek salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
This salad was awsome!! I didn't have greek dressing so I used the oil/dressing that came with the feta. I don't know what lentils are either so I used kidney beans. This was the top recipe that came up in my feta/kidney bean search. Brilliant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by canuckinjapan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stratford, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Osaka, Osaka, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
We really enjoyed it ! It was so easy to put together and loved just having to open 2 cans of cooked lentils. My husband suggested I add dried cranberries and slivered almonds (we got the idea from a restaurant salad) and that was a great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ludwigsix

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
This recipe looks and tastes great! I couldn't find canned lentils so I used a bag of dried lentils, cooked for 1/2 hr. I also forgot to get "greek" dressing so I used 2/3 cup Italian and 1/3 cup lemon juice. Turned out great and we had a ton! Using the bag of lentils we had eight cups of salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TShingleton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marysville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
I also added green pepper but didn't use the dressing because it gets moist enough with the cheese and tomato setting together in the fridge, especially if you use crumbled feta. It was a healthy salad for a hot summer night. Put fresh cracked pepper and garlic powder in it if it needs something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Garbanzo Bean Salad

A quick-and-easy Greek salad with garbanzo beans and a zesty dressing.

Greek Salad I

Summer vegetables dressed in a tangy, refreshing vinaigrette.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States